buffylass
navigation
current
archives
profile
extras
links
rings
cast
contact
email
gbook
notes
credit
host
design
friends
dangerspouse
skinny-bum
annie-cam
shot-of-tea
skinnypics
randomrabbit
kate-lee
the-moo
clairecav
theswordsman
frogeye
skinnylizzie
wombaby
stepfordtart
strawberrri
student-bum
onlyemma
lilkate
blujeans-uk

Nice part of the knob
12.02.08, 9:43 pm

Aha. Am feeling very pleased with myself for the following reasons (not in any particular order:

1. Am excellent friend x2 (comfort and support giving friend x1, flower-giving friend x1)

2. Am amazing granddaughter (amazing presents sent on birthday yesterday)

3. Am fantastic employee (possibly due to absence of Indie Chick equalling lack of opportunities to talk about money/hormones/monthly worry about being pregnant due to sporadic nature of periods, i.e. not turning up just for japes).

4. Have opened first savings account ever, due to finally having enough money to start saving.

5. Have FINALLY written to my sponsor kiddie in the Philippines.

6. Am apparently ace girlfriend, though don�t really know why as have not done anything especially ace this weekend, bar half-heartedly support Scotland in the rugby and let James explain the origins of O Flower of Scotland.

7. Have eaten five fruit and veg today, for the first time in, oh, forever.

Anyway, enough of my personal triumphs. So, last Thursday I went off to the cardiology department to have my treadmill test thing. Its official title was Exercise Test. Its revised Trading Standards name should be Low Grade Torture Session. They attached 90 leads to various points of me, after first sanding my skin down with sandpaper and then swabbing me with alcohol, and then hooked me up to a blood pressure machine, which I loathe with a passion. They then made me walk on a treadmill that went increasingly quickly, took a rolling ECG, and measured my blood pressure after every minute. By the fourth time it was going pretty blood quickly, and my blood pressure was high, and the cuff frigging HURT. I have marks where she�s clearly BROKEN ME. Anyway, a load of extra heartbeats finally came up, and everyone suddenly got very excited, but they didn�t tell me what they meant and made me go drink a cup of tea and go home, after firstly ripping off all the sticky electrode pads (James says it looked like I�d be attacked by some kind of sticky octopus). So I guess I�ll get the results soon, and it is nice that they�ve finally picked the extra beats up, but I don�t want to do the treadmill thing ever again.

Went to see my friend Yvonne tonight and ate lots of cake, and had a cup of tea wit Em yesterday after work, so feel like I have some friends again. Indie Chick�s been off for the last three weeks after having a knee operation, but she came in to say hello on Monday, which was nice. It also meant I got to have an hour long coffee break and moan about how much work we have on at the moment. I have to go out tomorrow night for a potentially hideous meal with some collaborators who are up from London, and I�d much rather stay in and watch Masterchef.

James: God, I am such a knob-end.
Me: You�re not a knob-end, you�re� the nice part of the knob. Whichever part that might be.

last - next