buffylass
navigation
current
archives
profile
extras
links
rings
cast
contact
email
gbook
notes
credit
host
design
friends
dangerspouse
skinny-bum
annie-cam
shot-of-tea
skinnypics
randomrabbit
kate-lee
the-moo
clairecav
theswordsman
frogeye
skinnylizzie
wombaby
stepfordtart
strawberrri
student-bum
onlyemma
lilkate
blujeans-uk

Of cricket and graduation (not mine)
03.08.09, 8:20 pm

Hello, I�m going to try and write a coherent entry today, as opposed to working myself into a drunken rage, bashing at the keyboard for ten minutes and then randomly going away again. I shall be following the usual Summarize Your Life template, so sit back and relax.

So, couple of horror trips to the dentist to mend the errant tooth. I had the filling put in last Monday (anaesthetic wore off towards the end, which was quite alarming), and was then put through the most brutal scale and polish known to man. Without wanting to gross people out too much, I ended up with a mouthful of blood to take on the walk home with me, but didn�t want to gob it onto the street because I thought it was just too disgusting, so kept it in my mouth for 30 minutes until I got to the toilets at work. The tooth seems okay now � not 100%, but I think it�s gradually getting there, so fingers crossed it�s all fine now.

Work�s currently boring me to tears. I think I�m just going through a phase, but all the studies are completely turgid and uninspiring. I don�t think it�s time to look for a new job, especially as the people I work with are fantastic, but it just goes to show that science can be beyond dull sometimes.

The cricket match last Thursday was lots of fun � weather ended up being gorgeous, and almost fooled us all into thinking it was summer. I managed to bowl Rob out, which isn�t much of an achievement as he�d never played cricket in his life, and flailed a few runs when it was my turn to bat. Tried to be as stylish as possible, but it�s hard to run gracefully in pads, and my laces kept coming undone. Everyone then got very pissed afterwards.

Day after that was Nicole�s graduation, so we all trooped down to the Interval and got very pissed again. Turns out the boy thinks that Keira Knightley is �quite attractive�, which I find hard to believe as the woman�s a complete stick insect with no breasts. He then wouldn�t answer Ju�s question as to whether he�d prefer my breasts and Keira�s face, or Keira�s �breasts� and my face. After that indecision, we all agreed that James Dean and Audrey Hepburn were the most attractive people of all time, before Rob started singing Hey Jude very loudly and out of tune and made us think about home time. Very fortunate to avoid a hangover the next day.

And then this weekend I met up with some of the old housekids, namely Em, Hannah and Michelle. Mel was supposed to come down too, but caught horrible swine �flu on Friday night and was incapacitated. I received a very sad phonecall on Saturday morning, the crux of it running as thus: �And I was feeling so ill that I couldn�t sleep, so I started watching The Lion King. Except I had to fast-forward past Mufasa dying, as I couldn�t handle it in my Swine �Flu state. That and the end bit, that was too scary for half two in the morning�. Anyway, saw some of the kids, which was fantastic. We went off to Cafe Rouge, bought lots of bottles of wine, and then I was made to talk for hours about EVERY DETAIL OF BECKY�S WEDDING. We all then agreed that it was crap that no one bar me and Mel had been invited, and vowed that we�d all invite all of the housekids to our own weddings. Before quickly tacking a, �If I get married, that is� onto the end. Ended up very drunk again, and was again fortunate to avoid a hangover.

Off to grandma�s tomorrow night, to be poked and prodded. I�m hoping to mollify her with lots and lots of photos from our Cornwall holiday. In unrelated news my driving test�s been booked for the middle of September, a fact that makes me feel slightly sick whenever I think about it. I am nowhere near ready, no matter what my instructor says. My driving skills are a complete illusion.

Right, better go ring the invalid and see how she�s doing. Oh, one more snippet of news before I go. I think I�m going home this weekend, as it�s my dad�s birthday and I thought it�d be a nice daughterly thing to do. Undoubtedly I will hear more about Amanda�s wayward son and his slide towards unemployment. There will though, at least, be a huge quantity of alcohol at Amanda�s house. Hurrah!

last - next