buffylass
navigation
current
archives
profile
extras
links
rings
cast
contact
email
gbook
notes
credit
host
design
friends
dangerspouse
skinny-bum
annie-cam
shot-of-tea
skinnypics
randomrabbit
kate-lee
the-moo
clairecav
theswordsman
frogeye
skinnylizzie
wombaby
stepfordtart
strawberrri
student-bum
onlyemma
lilkate
blujeans-uk

Of lighthouses and Knightmare
06.09.09, 9:26 pm

Back home from the lighthouse now, but do kind've wish that I was still there, as have a load of horrible, stressful things coming up in September that I don't want to do. I guess this is what comes of being a grown-up, and having a job, and being coerced into learning how to drive.

Anyway, the lighthouse holiday. Didn't get off to the greatest start as I had to travel up here with a hideous hangover (not my fault) and, several winding roads later, thought that I was going to vomit in James's dad's car. Got there eventually though, and it turned out we were in the lighthouse cottages and not the lighthouse itself, which seemed better from a stairs point of view if nothing else. Settled in, cooked some tea, didn't drink.

Most of the week was spent hiking about, which was nice but tired me out pretty quickly, and there was never enough rest time for my body to recover. It was also the windiest place in the world, and pretty rainy at times, so I was stuck with increasingly bizarre hairstyles as the week went on. And then every night we took it in turns to cook, and got absolutely battered, in that wonderful middle-aged oh-just-one-more-bottle way. No further hangovers to deal with, fortunately.

Did go to Belfast one day, which was pretty ace, though the excessive time was a bit wearing. Despite people's reassurances, going down Shanklin Rd felt slightly sinister, and though I took a lot of photos of the murals, they made me feel a little uneasy.

In between all this, I spent some of the time trying to counsel Mel, who was in the process of splitting up with her boyfriend. This was made even more difficult by the fact that the Mull is essentially a lead-lined box for mobiles, and I could only find signal perched on the windowsill od mine and James's bedroom. Just about managed to make it work though, and scored major best-friend brownie points in the process.

Have to confess though, I'm glad to be back in Sheffield again. As wonderful and lovely as James's family is, excessive family time makes me antsy in the end, and I inevitably long for some peace and quiet by myself. I like hanging out with myself, even if at the moment I spend it watching old Knightmare episodes on You Tube.

Stupid bloody work tomorrow. Very much not feeling the work at the moment, not least because I forgot to put my stupid bloody out-of-office email auto-reply on, and forgot that I was supposed to be presenting for the stupid bloody meeting last Friday. Argh. Also have a driving lesson tomorrow, where I must strive to not make any ridiculous mistakes because my test is a week on Wednesday and just thinking about it makes me feel ill. If, and that's a big IF, I even pass the stupid thing, I will undoubtedly refuse to drive anywhere because I still loathe it. The roads are full of arseholes, and I don't want to be crashed into by an arsehole.

Going to go and play with James for a bit.

last - next