buffylass
navigation
current
archives
profile
extras
links
rings
cast
contact
email
gbook
notes
credit
host
design
friends
dangerspouse
skinny-bum
annie-cam
shot-of-tea
skinnypics
randomrabbit
kate-lee
the-moo
clairecav
theswordsman
frogeye
skinnylizzie
wombaby
stepfordtart
strawberrri
student-bum
onlyemma
lilkate
blujeans-uk

Of Chicago and Facebook
06.03.10, 11:58 am

God, why can't I update more regularly?

So, feeling very ill this morning, which is obviously going to make for a great entry. James has just gone into town to do some work though, so I've got a free hour or two to bash out a few paragraphs on my life. Here we go.

Work is currently hideously busy, and made worse by the fact that I'm ill and yet have to go in due to aforementioned busyness. There are medical students absolutely everywhere (mandatory research placement), and I appear to be acquiring other people's on top of my four daily. There are not enough hours in the day to get everything I need to get done, done. I'm slowly going insane.

Anyway, enough of work. James and I are inching forward in our Alaska organising � we've just about booked the apartment we're going to stay in when we stay in Chicago for 5 days, and he's making me go to a baseball game with him. I am mildly concerned about being murdered in Chicago � stupidly, I went on the Chicago Tribune newspaper website and idly clicked on their 'homicide map'. Total murders in February = 18. Total murders in Sheffield in February = 1, and even that was a pretty rare occurrence. Oh well, I can always stay in the apartment for 5 days.

Last weekend I finished both watching the end of The Wire and reading Germinal. Consequently last weekend was one of the more miserable weekends of my existence. For the sake of your mental health, don't ever read Germinal; I have never felt so depressed by a book in my life. Not sad or emotionally wrung-out, just utterly depressed by the endless deaths and unrelenting poverty. Needless to say, I shall not be considering a career as a 19th century French miner.

Why is there a sudden craze on Facebook for people becoming a fan of trite, badly spelled sentiments? I've just checked my account, and the following stream of bilge had filtered through: [name] has become a fan of � I hate seeing my bestfriend upset knowing I cnt do nothen to help :/�, �Na, dont come running back to me now everythings gone wrong�, �one day your gonna look back & regret all the shitt you've done to me� and �THE FIRST TIME I MET U I DIDNT THINK I WOULD FALL IN LUV WITH YOU, BUT I DID�.

I mean, some of them can be quite funny but surely most of those are just common sense? Who loves seeing their friend upset? Who seriously meets someone for the first time and automatically thinks �Ah yes, I do believe I will be falling in love with you sometime soon�? Reading that last paragraph back, I sound a bit pretentious and condescending, but really I'm just utterly bewildered.

Better go, my head's about to explode and I need to do the washing up.

last - next