buffylass
navigation
current
archives
profile
extras
links
rings
cast
contact
email
gbook
notes
credit
host
design
friends
dangerspouse
skinny-bum
annie-cam
shot-of-tea
skinnypics
randomrabbit
kate-lee
the-moo
clairecav
theswordsman
frogeye
skinnylizzie
wombaby
stepfordtart
strawberrri
student-bum
onlyemma
lilkate
blujeans-uk

Cards on the table, we're both showing hearts, risking it all, though it's hard
26.05.15, 1:37 pm

NB. I’ve been listening to John Legend – All Of Me the entire time I’ve been writing, and I think it’s turned the entire entry somewhat emo. Apologies!

Two trips to the wedding dress shop, two extra tries of the dress, and despite it being too long and a little too big it’s still the best dress I have ever worn. I genuinely feel a million dollars whenever I wear it. And because I know that James will never see this, have a sneak peek:



This weekend my sister and Mel came up and we went bridesmaid dress shopping. And God bless them, they knew exactly how I was feeling and just took charge of everything, and were assertive without being demanding, and so it was never overly stressful. I made them try on about 9 dresses, and then swap dresses around, and eventually we chose one. Measurements were made and the order placed, and then we went home and ate cheese thins and drank beer and had a BBQ and drunkenly watched Eurovision. All major wedding tasks have been achieved!


You know, bar the 900 tasks I've so far forgotten and will suddenly remember in a lurch of abject horror.

On Sunday morning Mel practiced doing my make-up, as I’ve asked her to do it for the wedding because I don’t wear very much make-up at all and am utterly clueless. It must’ve actually been a pretty funny scene, with Mel telling being all, ‘I’m going to add a little something to your eyebrows… how do you feel about that?’, and then seeing my panicked face, ‘Just a little, and then you can wipe it all off! Now… don’t look at yourself yet. And remember to keep an open mind. To me this is very subtle, but I’m not sure you… mmm, don’t think you’ll like these lips.’

Mel: Do you have a daily routine?
Me: I don’t think you even need to ask that question.
Mel: I’m going to mascara you now.
Me: Ow. And ow again.
Mel: Sorry, sorry, sorry, but you can’t look at yourself yet. Just stay still.
Me: This is kind’ve like one of those trust exercises. Except you genuinely are just poking me in the eye.

When she’d finished and I was allowed to look it was absolutely terrifying. I looked like a completely different person, and not really in a Miss Congeniality good way either. We toned it down somewhat (eyebrows and lips the first to go!) and then it looked nice, I think, but I dunno. I just don’t want to make myself into something that I’m not. Equally though, I do need to wear some make-up. We’re going to have another practice next time we see each other, so hopefully it’s just a learning curve and we’ll find a level that nails it. And on a sappy note, though the task itself was not completely successful, it was quite intense from a friendship point-of-view, and made me realise how much I loved my best friend. And those are moments to treasure.

The in-laws are here on Wednesday night and not leaving until Saturday morning, AND they’re bringing some random relatives from New Zealand with them.




Happily the house is freshly cleaned from the visiting bridesmaids, but it still sucks. The only good news is that it’s an excellent excuse to get some school night drinking going on. The other big news is that James booked the honeymoon flights to Chile last night, after firstly giving me a big squeeze and telling me that the plane won’t crash. The flight is 16 hours and I’m honestly a bit terrified, but you can’t spend your whole life staying in Sheffield and being afraid, so I’ve just got to suck it up and go for it. Plus I’ve spent the last year learning Spanish at night school, and it’d be a shame to do all that and then never get the chance to hablo española.

last - next