buffylass
navigation
current
archives
profile
extras
links
rings
cast
contact
email
gbook
notes
credit
host
design
friends
dangerspouse
skinny-bum
annie-cam
shot-of-tea
skinnypics
randomrabbit
kate-lee
the-moo
clairecav
theswordsman
frogeye
skinnylizzie
wombaby
stepfordtart
strawberrri
student-bum
onlyemma
lilkate
blujeans-uk

Terrorist attack
7th July 2005, 12:35 pm

So, a terrorist attack in London today. Lab Tech Girl and I didn't hear about it until 11am, when we turned on the radio. Complete and utter chaos, especially with the police initially blaming it on a power surge. Of course, because power surges blow up buses all the time. I believe the death toll is around 45 at the moment... it's absolutely appalling. I guess I don't really need to say a lot more about the attack itself, as most people will feel the same way I do.

Cue worried texts from me to Lisa (to check that Suzy was okay, as she's currently working in London) and Michelle, in case she had decided to go shopping this morning. Michelle texted me back saying that she had actually arranged to meet someone on Liverpool St this morning, but she overslept. Thank god she did. My dad then rang, oblivious to anything that was going on, so I told him to check the BBC website, and also to ring Ciaran and make sure he and Lulu were okay. Apparently Martin's down there visiting at the weekend. My dad told me that he'd ring them and then let me know they're okay, but I haven't heard anything yet. I'm sure they're fine, but you know how your mind loves to play worst case scenarios sometimes.

I've spent all day in the lab doing clips with Lab Tech Girl. Clips, in case anyone is interested, is basically taking samples (clips) of DNA from newly born mice and checking to see if they possess the gene they were breed to specifically carry. Clips are very boring. I'm also very tired, as I didn't get to sleep till gone two last night, so consequently the day's been a bit of a struggle. I shall possibly just go to bed when I get home, after eating the other half of my sausage korma.

I did get to see the animal house at the hospital though, and all that entails. I had to wear a ridiculous loose blue gown with white elasticated cuffs... believe me when I say that I looked sexy. The animal house was only midly exciting though, as it just contained thousands of cages with mice inside them. Lab Tech Girl then told me that they just kill all the mice which don't possess the gene of interest, which made me feel a little strange. I don't know if I could kill any of the mice myself - no matter how humanely it was done - and I don't think I like the idea of some of them being killed just because of chance. It's probably best not to think about it too much, and I'm suddenly very grateful that I don't have anything to do with the mice side of things.

My god, I am so tired. I shall stagger home now and watch the news, seeing as all I've been able to do so far today is listen to it on the radio. My thoughts are with those who have died, needless to say.

last - next