buffylass
navigation
current
archives
profile
extras
links
rings
cast
contact
email
gbook
notes
credit
host
design
friends
dangerspouse
skinny-bum
annie-cam
shot-of-tea
skinnypics
randomrabbit
kate-lee
the-moo
clairecav
theswordsman
frogeye
skinnylizzie
wombaby
stepfordtart
strawberrri
student-bum
onlyemma
lilkate
blujeans-uk

Pas de Internet
6th July 2005, 4:38 pm

Still no Internet, as we have a fault on our phoneline - big surprise. BT reckon they'll come round Saturday morning to fix it, but I won't hold my breath. It doesn't matter either way, because my computer's claiming that I don't have my wireless card inserted (needless to say, I do), so I can't get online anyway. Computers suck ass.

So, I'm writing this by hand at my desk at work, during my lunchbreak; I'm hoping to find a uni computer after work tonight to type it up on. I have an entry I wrote on the 4th saved on my PC, talking mostly about my first day at work, so until I get chance to post it the main points you need to know are:

1/ We moved house fine.
2/ Work is also going fine.
3/ I'm not going to talk about MND work too extensively, as I'm worried about confidentiality/patenting. I've also given my work colleagues code names, in case any of them happen to be researching MND and pull up this website (unlikely I know, but still).

Anyway, today is going pret6ty well. Have been working with Mini Boss for most of the morning - have successfully completed my first official PCR (polymerase chain reaction - making lots of DNA from a little DNA). Saw Sulky (girl I'm taking over from) only briefly... I still have no idea what she's actually doing here, whether it's a placement or a PhD thing or what.

Due to my computer playing up, I took the back off and fiddled for ages, before leaving it propped up and exposed yesterday morning, so that I could have another prod when I got home. When I did get home, I found that the rain had come in through my open window and drenched everyhting in range, including my floor, desk, monitor, keyboard and computer innards. I shouted the words "fuck", "shit" and "wank" in an improvised sequence. Sitting on the floor hairdrying the inside of your computer is one of the more ridiculous ways to spend your time, but luckily it seemed to work, and I was able to coax my computer back into life without it catching fire.

Left my window shut this morning.

Okay, starting to feel a little sleepy now, probably because I was in for half eight this moning. I really have no idea how I managed to get up for school every day. The highlight of my day so far has to have been the conversation I had with the Jamaican Yardie nurse in the lift.

Yardie Nurse (walking into the lift): Dat's good timing.
Me: Must be a good day.
Yardie Nurse: Der's no good day, every day the same.
Me: Oh...

PhD Millhouse has just gone to make me a cup of tea, woo. Hopefully this will ward off the sleep vibes. I just heard the news that London won the 2012 olympic games. That's all champagne and kittens, until you sit and work out how old you'll actually be when it comes round. I'll be 27 - my GOD.

Anne has just offered to make me a cup of tea too. Maybe I'm wearing accidently wearing my "I need caffeine every 30 minutes or I melt" badge or something.

As you can see, I managed to find a uni computer. Now I shall go and buy some food from Co-op for tea - I think I'll make a sausage korma curry again, as it's pleasant. Th rest of the night will be spent drinking vermouth and lemonade, watching badgirls (taped last night, as Lisa missed it due to work and I missed it due to Becky talking to me) and bitching about my crappy computer. I really miss the net.

last - next