buffylass
navigation
current
archives
profile
extras
links
rings
cast
contact
email
gbook
notes
credit
host
design
friends
dangerspouse
skinny-bum
annie-cam
shot-of-tea
skinnypics
randomrabbit
kate-lee
the-moo
clairecav
theswordsman
frogeye
skinnylizzie
wombaby
stepfordtart
strawberrri
student-bum
onlyemma
lilkate
blujeans-uk

Too much Facebook and boredom
20.05.06, 2:51 pm

Oh, it�s you lot again.

I�m currently on a break from the big R � today is Neurogastroenterology day, and I�ve just finished learning about all the nerves and am about to depart on down Irritable Bowel Syndrome lane. I am so full of not caring for IBS, and can currently revise for about fifteen minutes without getting sleepy � no doubt a combination of the mystery illness and the intense boringness of my notes. Okay, I�m going to abbreviate mystery illness to MI from here on in, because I�m sick of writing that phrase and it comes up often enough. Whoa, how grumpy do I sound already?

So, I guess you�re all after some news. Well, you�ll be lucky. Yesterday morning I went off to the nurse and had yet more blood taken � for some reason my blood decided to take three thousand years to come out, so I was sat there for a good ten minutes. And the nurse decided to yank the needle around a bit before taking it out, but I�ll let her off because she�s nice and also now knows me by sight. No doubt I�ll be back there in a fortnight after I go see Dr Doctor in a week and he does his usual shoulder-shrugging and �Well, we�ll run some repeat blood tests and see if anything�s changed� routine.

After the blood thing I then trundled off to spread the Long QT word in Arts Tower Lecture Theatre 3. There�s no point being modest, my presentation was pretty damn good, especially as I didn�t do my usual trick of running my words together and totally rocked the question session afterwards. I used to be quite rubbish at public speaking, but apparently not anymore. However, I had a big visible needle-mark, was chalk-white (as usual) and was staggering around on stage due to my legs not being good currently. I doubt I could�ve looked more like a heroin addict if I'd tried. I was also there for three and a half hours, listening to everyone else's presentations, and some of them were pretty damn comatosing. Anyway, the oral presentation was 25% of my mark for the Long QT project module, so I think I�ve managed to get at least a high 2:1, which eases the pressure on getting an average of 61 this semester. First exam in 4 days now, and still not really feeling the Fear Factor.

Apart from that all I�ve been doing is the usual revision, eating and sleeping. My legs are not happy at the moment and are close to getting cut off. I tried quitting caffeine to see if it was making MI worse, but managed to last a day and a half before the tiredness threatened to eat me alive. My desk now houses 8 mugs and a glass with a wee bit of mouldy Coke in the bottom. Sorry, you get all the gross details here.

Facebook is so bloody addictive and I rue the day that Becky made me join. I spend too much time pissing around on it, sending random messages to people who live in the same house as me (currently writing a message to Michelle instead of going downstairs and having a conversation with her like a normal person) and joining groups like The Geoff Cope Appreciation Society, who was my old dissection lecturer. Also, tonight won�t yield any work either, as it�s Doctor Who followed by Eurovision. I have to tape Eurovision for Em, as she�s a big sad fan. I bet I end up watching it as well.

Huh, I�ve managed to write 526 words about absolutely nothing at all. God, I�m so deathly bored as well � thinking about going off to the shop to buy some food even though I�m not hungry and my legs will undoubtedly hate me, solely to stop me from chewing off my own arm in boredom. I need someone to entertain me, some kind of fun. Any fun will do as well, I�m not picky. Only not Eurovision fun, for obvious reasons. Please, someone save me from this existence.

last - next