buffylass
navigation
current
archives
profile
extras
links
rings
cast
contact
email
gbook
notes
credit
host
design
friends
dangerspouse
skinny-bum
annie-cam
shot-of-tea
skinnypics
randomrabbit
kate-lee
the-moo
clairecav
theswordsman
frogeye
skinnylizzie
wombaby
stepfordtart
strawberrri
student-bum
onlyemma
lilkate
blujeans-uk

Another graduation, ex-housekids and IKEA
24.07.06, 10:28 am

Apparently because I'm now not a student and my uni account's being cancelled on Saturday, when I do log onto the Sheffield network I don't get to use Microsoft Word anymore. Therefore I apoloigse for any stupid typos and spelling mistakes.

God, I hate not having t'Internet. I've been reading all your updates for the last half hour, and because time is short and I have lots of boring stuff to do also (ie. job searching and furniture buying) I had to... not skim-read, but read quickly and forgo leaving notes, which is irritating. And because I don't get to write many entries at the moment I'm a little stuck. On the one hand I have a million things on my mind (or 5 if I'm technical) that I could really do with getting out of my head and into an entry, because they're really starting to drag me down. On the other hand I've been doing fun stuff as well, which would easily take up an entry. And so because of the lack of updates I'm going to go for the fun entry, because I think that's fairer for all concerned. And also I don't want to drag all you lot down with me.

So, Becky turned up Thursday night and then promptly went out to Fuzz, which was actually fine because Thursday is TV Night, ie. Bad Girls followed by Big Brother followed by Sugar Rush, and I was still tired from Graduation. And then Friday I went down to Uni with Becky to see her in her robes before graduation, and also saw Mel once she arrived with the entire Outterside clan in tow. Only Mel would bring 7 members of her family to graduation, and only her mum would take photos of Mel having her official photo taken to "capture the whole essence of the day".

Friday night we then went off to the theatre to see Beauty and the Beast. We only just made it in time thanks to Mel getting the times wrong, and it was a total case of spot-the-odd-ones-out as it was us three and then ten thousand kids with cynical parents trailing behind. Some of the little girls were dressed up in Belle dresses, it was so cute. Absolutely boiling in there but fantastic, and I had to stop myself from singing along to Tale As Old As Time.

We came home, Becky went to bed after having a strop all the way home due to being tired (she's totally rubbish when she doesn't get enough sleep) and me and Mel sat up eating chips and talking about the latest Iain saga. She's actually quite depressed at the moment and I'm a bit worried about her. Anyway, next day we went off to see Em, who lives (quite) a bit up the road, and then Mel realised that she'd also messed up her MegaBus time, so Em had to drive her to MeadowHell in the middle of a huge thunderstorm, with Becky and me in the back because we'd decided there was no way we were walking home in the torrential rain.

But yeah, immensely lovely to see the ex-housekids, and I definately don't get to see them as much as I'd like to. And finally on Sunday I got a train down to Notts and Linda took me and Lisa to the wonder that is IKEA, where I bought a desk for my computer and a beside table, along with other fascinating items such as a wok and some coasters, and Lisa made us buy a bamboo for the kitchen windowsill. IKEA knackered me quite a lot though, and I suddenly went really dizzy in the furniture pick-up bit and had to sit down for a while. Probably just overdid it.

Last night was consequently spent assembling furniture, which always starts off as being really fun and then rapidly stops being fun once your hands start wrecking from screwing in 900 screws. And we didn't have a screwdriver, so had to share the ones on my penknife. I only got the beside table done, and have the desk to do once I get home. The floor's covered in wood shaving and Lisa's itching to hoover - her OCD gene is begging to be appeased.

So that was the last few days in a very brief overview. I'll try and get down towards the end of the week and update again then. Ooh, and before I go: wonderful Zoe sent me a postcard of the Dock Tower the other day, which possibly made me slightly too happy and will have pride of place on my wall once I sort all my bedroom shit out.

last - next