buffylass
navigation
current
archives
profile
extras
links
rings
cast
contact
email
gbook
notes
credit
host
design
friends
dangerspouse
skinny-bum
annie-cam
shot-of-tea
skinnypics
randomrabbit
kate-lee
the-moo
clairecav
theswordsman
frogeye
skinnylizzie
wombaby
stepfordtart
strawberrri
student-bum
onlyemma
lilkate
blujeans-uk

Multiple myeloma magic
23.09.06, 9:37 pm

Go me times lots! I�ve completed my first week at work. Okay, so 17 hours of work isn�t that massive an achievement, but still� go team me! Apart from a crushingly hard period on Thursday I haven�t felt too exhausted either (although the afternoon sleeping and chronic early nights aren�t really normal) and like to view that as a giant two fingers to the bastarding ME.

On Thursday me and Matt (who�s now left so a cunning codename is not required) had lovely conversations whilst he taught me how to embed. Mmm, bonding over setting mouse vertebrae in hot paraffin wax. This is clearly the way forward, socially. I also got to wear a very fetching plastic overall, and would post photos but unfortunately a camera was not around to capture the moment. Also, I was looking too much like a big twat end.

Friday was pretty uneventful� I got to go in later as there was a seminar at one, and going to them is counted as part of work. One of the post-docs talked about something to do with rheumatoid arthritis (it was all molecular biology, and most of it went right over my head) and then we all sat around bitching about the crazy heat because the air con has been broken for ages. I should probably write a little bit about what my job actually is, although I don�t want to totally geek out and bore you all. Basically we work on a cancer called multiple myeloma, which is cancer in the bone marrow, and can cause the bones to form holes and look like giant Crunchies. We take mice that have had the disease (and then sometimes a drug), prepare the bones, mount them in wax and slice them, stain them and then analyse them, before passing them on to whoever�s doing the particular study so that they can draw their own conclusions. Sounds totally yawny I know, but I find it really interesting.

Mini Boss gave me three journals on multiple myeloma to read. It�s just like being a student again, except I think I�m meant to enjoy reading these journals.

I haven�t seen Paddy in quite a long time. He wants me to go over to Kul and B�s Monday night as it�s Kul�s 22nd birthday, but I�m not sure if to or not. If I wanted to, I could stop all contact. Now is the time. I could keep making excuses, never ask to see him, and eventually our friendship would fade away and my feelings would hopefully die. If I see him on Monday, then everything will be ignited again and I�ll lose the chance.

Who am I kidding though? I know that I�ll end up seeing him on Monday; I know I won�t just let go. I�m not sure how long I can keep putting myself through this. It�s just� Paddy is the only person I�ve felt was wired even slightly like me (at least it seems this way� maybe there�s more people, I dunno), and in this lonely spiral I�m currently travelling down that�s an important thing. I really wish I could just go back to being best friends. I really wish for a lot of things.

Hannah�s up in Sheffield this weekend, and I think I�m meant to be meeting with her at some point. Hope she doesn�t bring Guy. Actually, and more depressingly, she texted me at half ten last night to let me know that she�s got a new job and will be moving to Sheffield. After receiving this I banged my head against the kitchen door a few times and then rang Em to break the news. We�re both determinedly adopting a whole �You know, maybe now we�re not living together she won�t be annoying anymore� stance.

And because a lot of people seem quite sad at the moment, you can all go ahead and watch the video of me dancing and singing along to When Will I See You Again that I randomly filmed on my camera ages ago when I was really bored. Go here and prepare for your level of respect for me to drop. A lot.

Okay, video's working now I've corrected some tardy errors.

last - next