buffylass
navigation
current
archives
profile
extras
links
rings
cast
contact
email
gbook
notes
credit
host
design
friends
dangerspouse
skinny-bum
annie-cam
shot-of-tea
skinnypics
randomrabbit
kate-lee
the-moo
clairecav
theswordsman
frogeye
skinnylizzie
wombaby
stepfordtart
strawberrri
student-bum
onlyemma
lilkate
blujeans-uk

Say NO to depression
28.09.06, 9:11 pm

Traipsed through town after work yesterday on a stupid pointless mission to find cheaper St. John�s Wort, then decided I just had to buy myself a Freeview box from Argos, and then because I still have no sodding idea of the route my bus takes on the way back from town I had to walk back through town to City Hall to be sure of catching it. You know when you�re so tired it feels like you�re looking at the world through a fish tank, and your vision keeps lurching and the ground feels like rubber? Well I had that a lot. It would�ve been quite fun, was I not really concerned that I was going to fall over and hurt myself.

Jesus, what a total ramble-fest just to get across my moan about feeling tired. Anyway, I went to bed a bit scared about waking up, and with good reason as I got sent home from work early today for nearly collapsing. The ME does love its little games; it thinks it�s hilarious to make me make a total tit out of myself. Obviously it was a combination of the stupid gallivanting around town, the insane heat of the lab (air con is still broken) and some horrible virus that Linda�s given to Lisa who�s inevitably given to me. I knew I was trouble when I started feeling horrifically comatose at just ten in the morning, and once we started standing up and examining histology stuff I started feeling really rough. Anyway, Mini Boss and Indie Chick (new full-time girl who works with me) were very lovely and insisted on walking me to my bus stop. I can have tomorrow off if I want to, but I shall try my hardest to go in because I don�t want work to think that I�m going to be continually having time off.

Well, it�s been angst central here in the flat, as last night Lisa firstly had a huge argument down the phone to Linda about something completely unimportant and it all required a lot of tea and sympathy, and then Lise rang later on also wanting a shoulder to cry on as she thinks she may have got chlamydia. God, go me, I managed to spell that right first time. Anyway, she seemed to cheer up towards the end (despite my wonderfully comforting �Well, you know, at least it isn�t herpes�), and we ended the conversation with this incredible show of maturity:

Me: My job is more interesting than yours though.
Lise: No its not.
Me: Yeah, it is. It�s more worthwhile anyway.
Lise: No, mine is. I get customers ringing up complaining because their health pack�s in the wrong name.
Me: Well I�m curing cancer, beat that. Ha!
Lise: Yeah well� okay I can�t think of anything right now, but I definitely do something better than cure cancer.

She then rang me again this afternoon to tell me that the GP�s referred her over to the hospital, and that she was hungry. After that we spent half an hour talking through my DVD collection trying to find a film that I fancied watching. I swear we could just talk forever, even if it is total bollocks; one night we spent an hour comparing the fanciableness between Aladdin and Eric from The Little Mermaid, before singing Disney songs to each other.

Good news, I�m not depressed! I noticed the last couple of weeks that I seem to be really quite cheerful most of the time (more incessantly than usual anyway), but it took me until yesterday to link it to the St. John�s Wort. However, I�m still symptomatic, so I do indeed have ME as opposed to depression. I reckon this is a good thing. Hell, I�m too hopped up on the Herbal Happy Pills to care either way.

I think Michelle is coming up this weekend, although knowing Michelle she may very well not turn up at all or end up staying for two weeks. Shit shit shit, I think I�m actually on the verge of getting quite ill. This is not good; the ME hates illness, it hates anything else stealing its limelight. It�s okay; I�ve just got three and a half hours tomorrow of x-raying bone and then some horrifically boring seminar on leukaemia before I�m done for the weekend, and can crawl into my bed and fester.

I�m doing a photo entry next to make up for all this boring health-talk, seeing as I�ve been meaning to do one for ages, plus I think you all need a refresher of what I look like. I know, I can�t wait either!

last - next