buffylass
navigation
current
archives
profile
extras
links
rings
cast
contact
email
gbook
notes
credit
host
design
friends
dangerspouse
skinny-bum
annie-cam
shot-of-tea
skinnypics
randomrabbit
kate-lee
the-moo
clairecav
theswordsman
frogeye
skinnylizzie
wombaby
stepfordtart
strawberrri
student-bum
onlyemma
lilkate
blujeans-uk

Traditional end-of-year thing
31.12.06, 2:00 pm

Okay, so here it is: the last entry of 2006. As I said to James, I don�t like the sound of 2007 at all, but then he pointed out that this is only because I don�t like odd numbers, which I have nothing to counter with. Anyway, normally I take this opportunity to write a big long rambly sombre entry about all the good and bad stuff that has happened over the year. However, seeing as most of you have been right there with me, reading it as it happened, this seemed a little foolish. So instead I�m just going to do two columns, one of good stuff and one of bad stuff, tot up the scores and deduce whether it�s been a good year or a bad year. My intelligence is damn good sometimes.

Good things:
1. Graduated from Sheffield with a 2:1
2. Got a brilliant job.
3. Finally confronted the Paddy thing and then eventually got over him.
4. Excellent flat with Lisa.
5. Went to Paris.
6. Lots of lovely things done with my fantastic friends.
7. Met Zoe.
8. Met James.


Bad things:
1. Got infected with ME
2. Anxiety gig came back in a big way.
3. Dodgy one-night stand.
4. Rejected by Paddy.
5. Ladyfriend clan arrival and associated issues.
6. My gran got very ill.
7. Friends moved away and abroad.

That makes 8 good things and 7 bad things, so the year is overall a good one. Hurrah! More importantly, how much bloody stuff happened this year?!

So, hopes for 2007. I�d love to write �become uninfected with ME� but I think that�s foolish and unrealistic. Instead I want to try and recover from the anxiety gig, which is probably more obtainable, even if it does mean lots of scary past-memory reliving. I also want to get a renewal on my work contract, try to work more hours, try to get on with Ladyfriend, and try not to scare James off.

As usual, I�d like to say a big thankyou to everyone who reads this rambling account of my existence, and for all the support you�ve given me through the bad stuff. It�s always hugely appreciated. A big Happy New Year to all of you. And now I�m going to steal other people�s tradition and fill in the following questionnaire. See you all in 2007.

1. What did you do in 2006 that you'd never done before?
Oh lots of things� felt relieved and pleased on results day, went to a proper job interview, graduated, to name a few.

2. Did you keep your new year's resolutions, and will you make more for next year?
Hang on while I go check last year�s entry to see what they were�okay well I got a 2:1, maintained all my friendships and let people into my head more. However I didn�t lose the anxiety gig and I had to quit the gym.

3. Did anyone close to you give birth?
The closest I can think of is Lisa�s aunt.

4. Did anyone close to you die?
No. Get in!

5. What countries did you visit?
La belle France

6. What would you like to have in 2007 that you lacked in 2006?
More optimism about the ME.

7. What date from 2006 will remain etched upon your memory, and why?
22nd June � degree results day, 8th August � diagnosis day, 25th August � job-getting day.

8. What was your biggest achievement of the year?
Lovely 2:1 and lovely job.

9. What was your biggest failure?
The anxiety gig.

10. Did you suffer illness or injury?
Hellspawn ME.

11. What was the best thing you bought?
My flat� I feel like I�ve poured enough damn rent into it to own it.

12. Whose behaviour merited celebration?
My forever ace friends.

13. Whose behaviour made you appalled and depressed?
Paddy at times.

14. Where did most of your money go?
Rent and council tax, depressingly. Oh and biscuits.

15. What did you get really, really, really excited about?
The bit of time after finals but before Uni finished. Seeing Nickel Creek in concert.

16. What song will always remind you of 2006?
Jimmy Eat World � Your House for all Paddy-related issues, Blur � Sweet Song for all sad things, Basement Jaxx � Do Your Thing for all friends things.

17. Compared to this time last year, are you:

i. happier or sadder? � it�s not really a case of that� I�ll just say I have more stuff to cope with.

ii. thinner or fatter? � thinner.

iii. richer or poorer? � technically poorer at this minute, but theoretically richer.

18. What do you wish you'd done more of?
Talking.

19. What do you wish you'd done less of?
Thinking.

20. How will you be spending Christmas?
At my dad�s I guess, same as always.

21. How will you be spending New Years?
I�ll get this one out the way first.

22. Did you fall in love in 2006?
I was already in love with The Padded One. Did fall out of love though, which is a bigger achievement.

23. How many one-night stands?
One.

24. What was your favourite TV program?
Peep Show, Sugar Rush, Ladette To Lady, Brat Camp

25. Do you hate anyone now that you didn't hate this time last year?
Hate�s a strong word. I massively dislike my old GP.

26. What was the best book you read?
David Copperfield by Charles Dickens, The Time Traveler�s Wife by Audrey Niffenegger.

27. What was your greatest musical discovery?
Damien Marley, Paul Simon, The Kooks.

28. What did you want and get?
The same old � a degree and a job.

29. What did you want and not get?
A cure. And Sky.

30. What was your favourite film of this year?
Little Miss Sunshine and Pan�s Labyrinth

31. What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you?
21, can�t remember much but the kids baked me a cake.

32. What one thing that would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying?
Again, getting better. Impossible, but hey.

33. How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2006?
The same as always, because I am not daring in any way.

34. What kept you sane?
My lovely friends, my lovely guitar and cups of tea.

35. Which celebrity/public figure did you fancy the most?
Robert Webb from Peep Show, and I have a huge crush on Saint from Sugar Rush.

36. What political issue stirred you the most?
The war in Lebanon.

37. Who did you miss?
The usual suspects of my mum and Bernie.

38. Who was the best new person you met?
Lovely Zoe, of course.

39. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2006.
If you work hard enough at something, you will succeed.

40. Quote a song lyric that sums up your year.
�You got a fast car
But is it fast enough so you can fly away
You gotta make a decision
You leave tonight or live and die this way�

last - next