buffylass
navigation
current
archives
profile
extras
links
rings
cast
contact
email
gbook
notes
credit
host
design
friends
dangerspouse
skinny-bum
annie-cam
shot-of-tea
skinnypics
randomrabbit
kate-lee
the-moo
clairecav
theswordsman
frogeye
skinnylizzie
wombaby
stepfordtart
strawberrri
student-bum
onlyemma
lilkate
blujeans-uk

Sheffield flood
27.06.07, 3:42 pm

Oh, hello. No, I haven�t been flooded, despite Sheffield being plastered all over the news due to the amount of rain that we had. One of the benefits of living where I do, i.e. on top of a mountain, is that you don�t tend to get flooded. However, the city centre looks a bit like Armageddon has arrived, and if that dam up in Rotherham bursts then we�re all going to be without power for two weeks. Work�s completely deserted, as nobody can get in, the power keeps going on and off and everyone has horror stories about the floods.

Number of worried phonecalls from my family: 0. Eventually I sent a text to my dad from work saying, �Hello, thankyou for all your worried phonecalls but don�t worry, I haven�t died from the floods.� Received a grovelling phonecall last night. Everyone�s also running around like headless chickens at work in case the power gets shut off, trying to get various vital things onto the emergency power. I get the feeling that the people who aren�t massively affected by it all are secretly loving the drama.

So, apart from that the other major event is that I�ve moved house. Kind�ve. � of my stuff is here (at the new place), and the other � is back at the flat, because we got tired on Friday night and sacked the rest off. Since then, various stuff has happened and we consequently haven�t had time to finish. Argh, I�ve got to get going � sorry about the rubbish update, but Internet access is hard to obtain at the moment. I shall try for a better entry when I�m next at James�s.

last - next