buffylass
navigation
current
archives
profile
extras
links
rings
cast
contact
email
gbook
notes
credit
host
design
friends
dangerspouse
skinny-bum
annie-cam
shot-of-tea
skinnypics
randomrabbit
kate-lee
the-moo
clairecav
theswordsman
frogeye
skinnylizzie
wombaby
stepfordtart
strawberrri
student-bum
onlyemma
lilkate
blujeans-uk

Kidney disease
11.07.07, 7:39 pm

My gran�s operation went fine, thank God. My mobile finally rang on Monday evening, although in true me style I didn�t get there in time to pick up. I admit that my heart skipped a beat when I listened to the voicemail and realised it was my uncle instead of my gran, but he was just relaying the message that the operation went without a hitch, and that my gran was fine.

I planned to go down to visit her on Wednesday night with James, who had offered to drive me down like the huge lovely that he is. Stupidly, I left my phone at his house on Tuesday morning, and figured that I�d just pick it up on Wednesday afternoon before we left. I made my way over there, hunted down my phone and saw that I had seven missed calls � one from my uncle, two from my gran�s mobile and four from my gran�s home. Again, I had a horrible moment of OH GOD WHAT�S HAPPENED? (Ha, spot my past personal trauma!) Anyway, all it was was that they booted her out early because she was doing so well, plus they were worried that she�d catch some horrible super bug. We drove down to visit her at home instead, it pouring with rain the whole way, and upon arrival I hoofed it up the drive and proceeded to crash unceremoniously into her kitchen, dripping water everywhere and with half a florist in my arms, because I love my gran a lot. Despite all that she seemed pleased to see us.

We didn�t stay too long as she was still quite tired, but she�s definitely back on form as she says she�s gotten feeling back in her feet (first time in about a year). Plus she wasted no time in telling me that I had too many gaps in my clothing, and if I wasn�t careful the cold air would give me kidney disease (medical reasoning behind this: complete mystery). But no, the operation seems to have been a big success, and I�m so pleased I could probably implode if I tried hard enough.

In other news, I�ve finally officially moved house, and handed in my old keys. Still haven�t fully unpacked, because I�m a lazy arse, but I�m getting there slowly. The Land Baron (she�s technically a baroness, but it�s a Peep Show quote so I�m going to use baron. So ner.) appears to be quite well off, as she owns three types of olive oil and her part of the fridge is full of expensive condiments and weird olive things. We�re getting on well though, and the house is really nice.

Went out for a meal with the bosses and some of the post-docs last night, as we had one of our collaborators from Copenhagen visiting with her PhD student. It was actually quite a fun night, despite the fact that I couldn�t be arsed to go, and I�m glad I did in the end as my SRDS (staff review and development assessment thing) is coming up in a couple of weeks and it�ll look good for that. Man, and let�s not beat about the bush � my assessment is going to be totally kick ass. I�ve already been told by Mini Boss that they think I�m doing a totally ace job, and have exceeded all expectations, and blah blah blah I�m so good just give me a medal of amazingness cakes. But no, seriously, it�s going to be a good review, and I get the feeling I�m going to be offered full-time in September.

I spent the weekend with James, doing really not much. We did our usual bum into town and drink coffee with the paper routine, and Saturday night I made him watch the forth Harry Potter film, in preparation for the fifth one (squee!). We chucked a bit of red wine into the pasta sauce that we made, and then James proceeded to drink the rest of the bottle (I�m still tee total in regards to alcohol). Consequently he got quite merry, and when he�s in that state he�s liable to say mushier stuff than usual. We were in bed having a pre-sleep cuddle, and he came out with the following two statements: �There�s nowhere I�d rather be in the world right now than here with you� and �You�re the best thing that�s ever happened to me�. Both of those are the most wonderful things to hear ever, and I love him so much. I�d be totally devastated if he had to leave. Man, I don�t know how to explain this. I just still have a couple of barriers up, because it�s a very me thing to do, and it makes me feel bad. I don�t feel like I need to explain why it�s a very me thing to do, because I�m sure you all know the reasons why. And what makes me feel worse is that he doesn�t know I have those barriers up. Argh, my brain�s telling me to delete this whole paragraph because I feel guilty.

His mother�s turned up tonight to help him decorate the bedrooms, and isn�t going until Monday. Therefore if I want to see him I�m going to have to go over and help paint walls. Sigh. Decorating, like most activities in life, sounds a lot more interesting than it actually is.

last - next