buffylass
navigation
current
archives
profile
extras
links
rings
cast
contact
email
gbook
notes
credit
host
design
friends
dangerspouse
skinny-bum
annie-cam
shot-of-tea
skinnypics
randomrabbit
kate-lee
the-moo
clairecav
theswordsman
frogeye
skinnylizzie
wombaby
stepfordtart
strawberrri
student-bum
onlyemma
lilkate
blujeans-uk

Defensive freak-out imminent
14.08.07, 5:26 pm

God, I should really go away on holiday with people who hate me more often, as I�m so thankful and relieved to be back in Sheffield that it�s put me in the best continual mood ever. I love being home. I love Sheffield a big creepy amount, I love having television and Internet and newspapers once more, I love being back at work (this will wear off in precisely 1.2 days) and I love being able to have a decent cup of tea once again.

Still yet to fully unpack (what did you expect?) but have done some washing at least. Unfortunately I forgot to take my old mugs down before I went away, and they�re all very mouldy and gross, and I�m a bit scared to move/touch them less the spores fly out and infect me with some fatal virus. And I�ve already eaten the entire packet of Petit Ecolier biscuits that I brought back for myself, which is utterly shameful.

Friday was the most unproductive and slacker day of my entire work history, beating hollow all previous half-arsed days that I have completed. Here is a summary of the day�s events:

8:54 am: Arrived at work, swiped in and went in to the lab. Said hello to Indie Chick and talked about recent events.
9:38 am: Dr Bone came down, talked about current studies situation and other notable work points.
10:18 am: Went for early coffee break.
11:05 am: Returned from coffee, talked to Indie Chick about tortoises.
11:23 am: Dr Bone returned, talked about what to do work-wise before meeting on Monday afternoon.
11:31 am: Put on two spine x-rays.
11:43 am: Talked to Indie Chick about SRDS meeting.
12:00 pm: Went to the pub for lunch with everyone as it was Neil�s last day.
2:35 pm: Returned from pub. Talked to various people about lots of things not to do with work.
2:57 pm: Went home.

It�s pretty disgraceful really, and I would feel bad except Mini Boss has returned from holiday and everything has suddenly gotten hideously busy as we have so many studies coming in. So instead I shall feel proud that Indie Chick and me managed to sneak out for an hour and a half lunch without Dr Bone noticing.

My sister rang at the weekend and completely agreed with me about everything regarding Amanda (read: sort�ve). Which is good. She�s also going to ring my dad this week and raise our concerns about his smoking and drinking issues, and I am so very very glad that it�s not me doing that particular joyless task. I�m predicting a spectactular defensive freak-out, followed by much �It�s my life and I�ll do what I want, you�re all stabbing me in the back, you don�t want me to be happy� ranting, which is indeed how all previous freak-outs have ran.

Think I spent too much time with James this weekend, as by Sunday night my pillow talk had been reduced to the following:

James: Man, look at you. You tired, babe?
Me: Yeah I am. I�m Yawny McTired and you�re� you�re Tally McBig.
James: Oh good, that�s nice.

Ran into Em yesterday during coffee as she�s got a week of lectures. She�s just got back from her elective in Tanzania and has the most amazing tan ever. Plus she �did bugger all medicine, just drank for three weeks.� Maybe I should�ve become a doctor. Speaking of holidays (kind�ve), we�ve booked our apartment for Berlin and are pretty much set. James has decided to take personal responsibility for my German skills, and so keeps testing me on how to say things like, �I�d like two cups of coffee and a piece of cake.� I mean, obviously I�ve got sod all idea, not least because my German�s awful, but also because you don�t get to learn useful things like that. When I learned French nobody told you how to say, �Can I have the bill, please?� but I can name everything in my pencil case. Because that�ll be totally useful on my holidays.

James: I don�t think you should go away on holiday ever again.
Me: No. No, I don�t think I should either.
James: Especially not to France. France is stupid.
Me: It is stupid� and they don�t even speak English.

last - next