buffylass
navigation
current
archives
profile
extras
links
rings
cast
contact
email
gbook
notes
credit
host
design
friends
dangerspouse
skinny-bum
annie-cam
shot-of-tea
skinnypics
randomrabbit
kate-lee
the-moo
clairecav
theswordsman
frogeye
skinnylizzie
wombaby
stepfordtart
strawberrri
student-bum
onlyemma
lilkate
blujeans-uk

Osteoclast cake for the birthday girl
31.03.08, 8:54 pm

Man, just had the best guitar session ever, which has just proven to me that I can actually play (confidence has been slightly lacking of late). Turns out that the secret to good playing is not lots of practise, but is actually cutting your nails fascistly short. Oh, and doing a proper warm-up.

So, my courting of various cardiologists is not over yet. Thankyou for all your lovely notes, by the way, you�re all fantastic. I went to see my GP last Friday, who was pretty nice actually, if not a little sheepish, seeing as I had to insist that he give me a referral in the first place. I don�t have to have my 900th blood test after all, as it�s just to check that my kidneys can deal with the dye that they�re going to inject me with, and I had one back in November. I haven�t had my appointments yet, but they�re basically going to give me an ultrasound to check for any structural abnormalities (have been reliably informed by one of the students that it�ll involve getting naked � obviously my favouritest thing of all my favourite things to do in front of total strangers), and then do this vaguely scary-sounding dye-injecting CT scan of my heart, which�ll check my blood flow and stuff and look for any leaks. I rang the cardiologist guy�s secretary today to see if there�s any way I can get out of taking Propranolol, because I really don�t want to go down that whole route again. The GP said that they�re just doing every test that they can... I just wish that they�d hurry up with it.

So, I was 23 last week. Had an excellent birthday in the end (bar the surprise period that turned up two weeks� late and with no pre-symptoms whatsoever - THANKS, WOMB), as in the evening various people from work came over to my house and Indie Chick�s chef boyfriend cooked us all an amazing three-course meal. I even ate ripe banana � it was a proud moment. One of the students baked me a cake with HAPPY BIRTHDAY HOLLY! and an osteoclast on it, which was definitely the geekiest cake ever, but much appreciated all the same (an osteoclast is a wee cell found in bone which breaks bone down and features rather heavily in our work... it looks like a little pink jellyfish). So yes, despite feeling hideously old it was all very lovely.

James was home this weekend, and we spent a mostly rainy weekend pinkling around doing not very much. Went out into the Peak District on Sunday, where I waxed lyrical about Dave, my mythical black Labrador that James refuses to both buy me and look after at his house. Met a lot of wholesome families out on wholesome Sunday walks, and briefly considered stealing each of their dogs, before inevitably discarding the idea as it�d involve having to bomb through the heather and I didn�t want to get bitten by a tick and die of Lyme�s Disease. The boy left at half six this morning and obviously woke me up, so I am currently reat tired.

Went to see Yvonne after work, and proceeded to consume two cups of tea, two chocolate biscuits and two scones. Sometimes I think I�m just going to turn into one enormous PIE and have to be rolled around by Indie Chick all day. We also listened to some Bach and talked about how crap the government is, and it was really quite nice.

Work is a bit stressful, more so since Mini Boss told us that we�re not working hard enough today. Sorry but I am working hard enough; you�re just stressed out because you won�t delegate out any tasks. Got paid today, thank Christ. Not quite sure when life suddenly got so expensive. Being an adult is too hard.

last - next