buffylass
navigation
current
archives
profile
extras
links
rings
cast
contact
email
gbook
notes
credit
host
design
friends
dangerspouse
skinny-bum
annie-cam
shot-of-tea
skinnypics
randomrabbit
kate-lee
the-moo
clairecav
theswordsman
frogeye
skinnylizzie
wombaby
stepfordtart
strawberrri
student-bum
onlyemma
lilkate
blujeans-uk

This entry really is about frig all
07.04.08, 7:39 pm

Bit of an up-and-down week, followed by an up-and-down weekend. Work is currently hideous, both in terms of workload and politics. My mood has also not been great, and I�m not sure why. I�d say it was hormones, had I not just had my (wonderful surprise of a) period. Indie Chick�s feeling it too � we seem to spend a lot of time sneaking off to the microscope room to have a good moan. Ugh, holiday required... something which is definitely not going to happen as there�s too much work to be done.

The weekend mostly consisted of staying indoors, due to the ridiculous snow. Either settle or don�t snow at all. There is nothing more pointless than heavy snow that instantly vanishes. Sunday afternoon James and I played Scrabble, which he won again, and only because he went back to his usual tricks of tagging S�s on the ends of my amazing words and insisting that random Scottish/archaic words that I�d never heard of actually existed. He also had the Z, J, Q, all the S�s and all the Y�s, so there was no hope really.

A lot of the weekend was spent having a pointless circular discussion about this go-karting thing that some of his friends had orgainsed for Sunday morning. For some reason James really wanted me to go, and I really didn�t want to go, for a variety of reasons that I can�t be bothered to go into. I got quite annoyed because he�d basically assumed that I�d come, and then essentially ignored me repeatedly saying that I didn�t want to go. Eventually it got to 9:15am on Sunday morning, and we were still having the same pointless conversation, and thanks to my ridiculously up-and-down mood I suddenly had a crazy breakdown in the middle of the kitchen, and he suddenly realised he was being quite unfair and told me I didn�t have to come. He then went go-karting and I hoovered the downstairs because I felt bad. That has to be the most mundane tale of my stupid faux-hormonal state ever. I mean, I do know the reason why I'm not very happy, but it's a combination of about three million small things, and you'd think I'd be able to GET OVER SOME OF THEM BY NOW. IT'S BEEN NEARLY TEN YEARS, FOR GOD'S SAKE.

I think he basically misses me so much when he�s in London that he wants to spend every second of the weekend with me. It�s a lot easier for me too, as my life hasn�t changed... I�m still in Sheffield and seeing the same things and going to the same workplace. It�s tricky, not least because I�m going up to Manchester this weekend for a reunion with the housekids, and Becky�s pressuring me to come up Friday night. Have no idea what I�m going to do.

I rang my gran over the weekend, as she was getting some results back from the MRIs that she had on her back and her heart and had promised to ring me as soon as she got them, only she didn�t. Anyway, her heart problems are essentially still there and a little worse, but still quite mild so no one seems overly fussed. She does, however, have a cracked bone in her back, and will have to have another operation to glue it back together. It�s beyond shitty, as her previous operation has basically not been much of a success overall, and 82 year-old women on Warfarin are not meant to have operations. My gran sounded pretty down on the phone, and I couldn�t think of many comforting things to say. Anyway, she�s hopefully going to get an appointment with her AWOL consultant soon, and I shall prepare to worry myself silly again when she gets the date for this next operation.

Amanda�s still a complete hellspawn parasite. I really don�t think it�s much to ask for her not to be listening in on my phonecalls to my dad, as the sound of her cackling away in the background makes me want to reach down the phone and staple her head to the fridge. I�ve got to go up to Manchester in a couple of weeks� time to clear out my bedroom there, as the house will soon be going up for rent. I�m hoping to be able to smuggle all of the old photo albums home with me, as I�m pretty sure my dad won�t even notice that they�re gone. It�ll be weird saying goodbye to the house but I don�t think I�ll be overly sad, as there�s quite a few upsetting memories associated with it. To be honest, I think the worst part of the whole thing will be having to spend extended periods of time in Amanda�s vicinity.

last - next