buffylass
navigation
current
archives
profile
extras
links
rings
cast
contact
email
gbook
notes
credit
host
design
friends
dangerspouse
skinny-bum
annie-cam
shot-of-tea
skinnypics
randomrabbit
kate-lee
the-moo
clairecav
theswordsman
frogeye
skinnylizzie
wombaby
stepfordtart
strawberrri
student-bum
onlyemma
lilkate
blujeans-uk

Of Dumfries and guitar videos
26.08.08, 4:16 pm

As reported, I�ve spent the last six days in Dumfries, where I had a fantastic time. I always love going up there, not least because James�s parents� house is EMORMOUS. Inside it smells of smoky wood fires and there�s a big entrance hall with a sweeping staircase up to the first floor, and there are a good 12 rooms and everything�s made of dark heavy wood, and it all just feels very traditional and cosy. Anyway, I�ve had a jolly nice time there, not least because I succeeded in spending every night totally pissed, which is quite an achievement given that I�m almost always completely tee-total. Crashing off the wagon never felt so fun!



N.B. The images are all pixellated... I have no idea why. If anyone knows the reason, please do share it.

We visited various family members (just for a change), and wandered over a couple of beaches and through a couple of forests, and went out for a meal last night. It was very quiet, not least because the weather was pretty rubbish. To be honest, I suspect the main reason why I like going up there so much is because I know that James�s parents like me, and enjoy my company, which obviously doesn�t happen in New Mills.



The downside of alcohol is that it makes you decide that the most ridiculous suggestions are, in fact, excellent plans of action, and so when James asked me to play some guitar for his parents I agreed, despite knowing that I would be playing on James�s sister�s unloved classical guitar, which refuses to stay in tune and which I have restrung with steel strings for reasons unknown. I was completely hammered and did not sound even vaguely good. They�re bound to think that I�m completely ham-fisted. Oh well... I could have done something more embarrassing like throw up on them, I suppose.



Anyway, the other big news is the interview. It went fine � a lot more difficult than my original one, but then that�s to be expected. It was still pretty easy, mainly because I knew all of the interviewers, though they threw in a few questions along the lines of �How do you think people on the floor see you?� and �What do you think your strengths and weaknesses are?�. I always hate those kinds of questions, because you inevitably end up sounding like a tit in your quest to find the perfect balance between selling yourself and not blowing your trumpet overly hard. To cut to the chase, Mini Boss rang me later on in the day, after I�d arrived in Scotland, and told me that I�d got the promotion, which is excellent, and that they were all very impressed with my interview, which is an added bonus. So I�ll get a pay-rise soon, thank Christ. I really need to join the pension scheme now � it�s time to start behaving like a proper adult.



Work tomorrow. They�ve apparently employed a very quiet boy and a very outgoing girl in the lab, probably due to start on the 1st September. Very quiet people unnerve me slightly. I suspect that�s because I have such an all-encompassing love of talking. Sorry, I�m really quite tired, and am finding it a little tricky to write this entry with any kind of flair.




Finally, I was so pleased to get home and piddle around on my guitar after a hideous day of packed trains (engineering works have overrun, just for a change) that I plucked up the courage to record a snippet of me playing. I get really quite nervous playing in front of an audience and it�s time to remedy that, and playing to a camera is the first step. Plus, playing is my one big passion, and I figured it�d be nice to share it with you all. Apologies for the rubbishness of my camera (and possibly my playing).

last - next