buffylass
navigation
current
archives
profile
extras
links
rings
cast
contact
email
gbook
notes
credit
host
design
friends
dangerspouse
skinny-bum
annie-cam
shot-of-tea
skinnypics
randomrabbit
kate-lee
the-moo
clairecav
theswordsman
frogeye
skinnylizzie
wombaby
stepfordtart
strawberrri
student-bum
onlyemma
lilkate
blujeans-uk

Of payrises and extra beats
02.09.08, 8:52 pm

As is probably apparent, I was dragged straight to the pub after work and made to play pool with Rob whilst consuming beer on an empty stomach. I then walked home, and by the time I got there was at the stingy stage of needing the loo. I then came upstairs, wrote the masterpiece entry whilst swigging Limoncello from the bottle (classy) and finally staggered off to the chippy. Where has this descent into alcoholic squalor come from? Answer: James�s father. That�s what being middle-aged does to you. I�ll wager.

Lovely weekend with the boy, where we got to do all the things that we couldn�t do whilst being in the same house as his parents. No, not solely that thing. Lots of talking about that thing too! Nah, it was just nice to have uncensored conversations and spout on about my usual illogical shit and spend drunken evenings flopping all over him. I still sometimes wonder why he thinks I am apparently so great though, when I sit and stare at him for a good three minutes whilst he�s reading the paper, and then when he finally notices me say thoughtfully: �I like you. You�re nice.� On Saturday night we had a long discussion about how great it would be if my breasts moved independently of each other, and I could then use them in complicated mating rituals like a deformed peacock. Thank God we don�t run the country.

Work is currently not nice. Instead of having one meeting a fortnight with Big Boss, I now suddenly have three meetings a fortnight, two on the same frickin� afternoon. Whenever I get in Big Boss�s office I always zone out, as it�s always after lunch and I�m inevitably drowsy, plus I think the room is stuck in some kind of Bemuda Triangle of Boringness. I then try and keep myself awake by counting how many plastic tumblers from the water fountain he has in the room, before being jerked back to reality when am asked a question, and am then forced to hazard a guess at the correct answer. I�m getting a 5% payrise in October (can�t remember if I�ve written about this already, so will write it again just in case), and so that plus my promotional rise means that I�ll soon be almost earning a normal person�s wage. Go team me!

Not the greatest of nights last night. Going through a bit of an insomnia patch, due to my schedule being messed up since Dumfries, and on Sunday night I really didn�t get much sleep. And then last night I kept getting extra heartbeat quite a lot, and eventually decided to sack in the day and go to bed. Every time I lay down I got crazy palpitations, regardless of which position I lay in, and because I was so tired to begin with it freaked me out quite a lot. Thoughts of impending heart attacks are NO ONE�S FRIEND. Eventually I sat on the end of my bed and had a bit of a micro-blub, and then when that appeared to be improving the situation by 0% I wrapped myself in blankets and leant against my bed on the floor and tried to fall asleep sitting up in front of BBC News 24. This kind�ve worked, and I eventually fell asleep lying down, though felt seven shades of shit today. The upshot of it is that I rang my consultant today and asked him to hassle about my CT scan, as I still haven�t had an appointment, and he�s apparently going to bump me up the list, so hopefully that�ll happen soon and then they can tell me that everything is definitely fine and I have nothing to worry about.

On Saturday afternoon we�re going up to New Mills as my dad is doing a gig with his band, in whatever venue is coolest in New Mills. It is, after all, the hippest of all the Peak District towns! Yes, Amandroid will be there, along with one of her spawn, but I have resolved to be both graceful and friendly. Unless she insults me, in which case she�s fair game. We�re staying there Saturday night (my dad on the phone: �You and James are sleeping on two singles... sorry about that, I hope it�s all right, it�s just they�re different heights so you can�t even put them together really� like I�m some kind of raging nympho) and then leaving as early as possible on Sunday, as it�s my mum�s birthday. And also because of the Grand Prix. That second reason is not mine, in case it needs stating.

Going swimming after work with Katie tomorrow, so have just had a shower and shaved everything in sight... probably too much detail there. I�m now going to go and pretend to be Jimi Hendrix for a while, and then indulge in some shameless sentimentality and watch The Secret Millionaire.

Oh, final thing. I'm locking up next entry, due to the usual reasons. If anyone would like the keys to the kingdom, then either leave me a note or email me at [email protected]

last - next