buffylass
navigation
current
archives
profile
extras
links
rings
cast
contact
email
gbook
notes
credit
host
design
friends
dangerspouse
skinny-bum
annie-cam
shot-of-tea
skinnypics
randomrabbit
kate-lee
the-moo
clairecav
theswordsman
frogeye
skinnylizzie
wombaby
stepfordtart
strawberrri
student-bum
onlyemma
lilkate
blujeans-uk

Of bridesmaids and ME
24.10.08, 10:21 pm

�Don�t think I�ll be a bridesmaid, unless she has five or something. Plus I�m a raging heathen.� HAHAHAHAHAHA. Talk about famous last words, eh! You are looking at one of the four bridesmaids for Becky�s wedding on June 13th, after Becky got engaged last Saturday evening. They comprise of me, Mel, Jenny (Becky�s best friend from home) and Becky�s sister. Apparently it�s okay to have an atheist as a bridesmaid for the most religious wedding of the century!

First thing Katie said when I rang her to tell her: �Erm, aren�t you going to be burnt to a crisp as soon as you step foot inside the church?�

First thing Mel said to me when I rang to dissect the whole thing: �Okay, so we are going to have to put some serious planning into our dresses, seeing as we need to find one to suit all of our various skin tones (Mel�s nice way of referring to the fact that she is the width of a toothpick and I am not)�.

First thing I said when Becky asked me if I would be her bridesmaid: �Oh Jesus. Yes, I mean I�d love to!�

Still distinctly uneasy/worried about the whole wedding thing, but I ranted it out of my system to Mel down the phone, so don�t feel the need to witter on about it here as well. It does mean that I�m going to have to do many a trip to Manchester to prepare for this wedding though, and try my hardest not to look like a pink puffball on the big day, and try to at least tolerate the huge cloud of religiousness that is going to surround every aspect of the wedding. The church service is going to be amazingly God-filled. I�ve been told that I have to join in all the prayers, or at least �bow [my] head and try to look solemn�. God only knows what the hen night is going to entail. Aww it is lovely to be asked though, and I am quite proud, underneath all the gruff flippancy. I�ve never been a bridesmaid before, and to be one for somebody who you�re not related to, and who therefore is your family out of choice, is pretty much an honour.

Not in the greatest of places right now. My ME is playing up something awful � I didn�t make it into work on Wednesday due to feeling so dreadful, and was then sent home from work at lunchtime both yesterday and today for being generally useless to the world of science. Coupled with that is a constant low mood, which is probably a side effect of the tiredness plague. Am completely rubbish company... Indie came over this afternoon to see me as she�d finished at uni early, and I talked to her for about an hour before promptly falling asleep, leaving her to amuse herself until her boyfriend turned up. Everyone seems a little worried and keeps telling me to take it easy. I haven�t voiced my fears of the ME relapsing out loud, because that way it won�t come true. I don�t think it�s a relapse... I think it�s just my shitty mood that�s draining my motivation to keep on going. It�s just the most frustrating thing � I want to keep getting better, not plateauing and slipping backwards all the time.

In other sad news, I managed to drop my beloved Ipod in the bath, though the tiredness plague has meant that I�m less pissed off than I would normally be. Needless to say, it is no longer amongst the living. I�ve already bought a new one off of Amazon, as I can�t function without it, and it�s hopefully coming tomorrow. The less said about the �150 I had to spend the better, frankly.

Seeing Russel Howard in concert tomorrow night, which should be lovely. And I�m really sorry but I am completely bushwhacked, so will have to go hit the sack. A better update once I�m feeling better.

last - next