buffylass
navigation
current
archives
profile
extras
links
rings
cast
contact
email
gbook
notes
credit
host
design
friends
dangerspouse
skinny-bum
annie-cam
shot-of-tea
skinnypics
randomrabbit
kate-lee
the-moo
clairecav
theswordsman
frogeye
skinnylizzie
wombaby
stepfordtart
strawberrri
student-bum
onlyemma
lilkate
blujeans-uk

Of bones and Burns Night
22.01.09, 9:53 pm

January is such a dreadful month. Everyone�s hideous life crises appear to be happening/have happened in January, and it�s just endlessly cold, dark, wet and depressing. It�s also a week and a half until pay day, and devil hormones appear to have taken over my every waking moment. I really wish spring wasn�t a good two and a half months away.

The anniversary went okay. My gran sent me some flowers, which she�s never done before and was a nice thought, though it still grated slightly because I hate having to think about the reason for the day. Work was mostly taken up by meetings, and I then went home and drank half a bottle of wine, which cheered me up, and then staggered over to James�s and did my best to act sober. Not the most sensible way to deal with the day, but who said there were even rules.

Had a hideous day today, and am now celebrating its demise with double Masterchef. Had someone up from Cambridge wanting to see the MicroCT and basically how we do our thing in the lab. She was here all day, and I was painfully aware that she was going to be here for too long, and that I would most definitely run out of things to say before she left. And I was right. The whole thing was a complete struggle, not least because she was so very boring to talk to, and would only talk about work, i.e. bone, bone techniques, bone morphology, bone bone bone bone bone. Now, I am all for bone, as it�s essentially my entire job, but Jesus. It got to half past two in the afternoon and I was hoarse from talking, bored of the sound of my own voice, and just dying inside from the awkward silences. She eventually left to get her train, and I had a celebratory cup of tea. Absolutely knackered right now though... stress-based days still seem to tire me out, though I�m doing better at the physically exerting days. Really home Boring from Cambridge doesn�t visit ever again.

Having a Burns Night party with work people on Sunday night, which is bound to end in drunken debauchery, so have taken the Monday morning off in anticipation of the horrible hangover. I don�t even particularly like haggis and whiskey, but everyone�s fed up of being poor and depressed so we�re going to drink ourselves stupid and play Articulate and Guitar Hero. Everyone�s getting in sneaky practise sessions apart from me, because I sadly don�t own a copy, and so I�m bound to be the only one still stuck on three buttons come Sunday.

Still very sleepy. Mel also appears to be having some kind of life crisis, and is trying to tell me about it through the medium of Facebook chat, which is proving to be spectacularly unsuccessful, as everyone knows that Facebook chat is complete and utter bollocks. Should probably just go ring her.

last - next