buffylass
navigation
current
archives
profile
extras
links
rings
cast
contact
email
gbook
notes
credit
host
design
friends
dangerspouse
skinny-bum
annie-cam
shot-of-tea
skinnypics
randomrabbit
kate-lee
the-moo
clairecav
theswordsman
frogeye
skinnylizzie
wombaby
stepfordtart
strawberrri
student-bum
onlyemma
lilkate
blujeans-uk

Of recaps and anniversaries
12.01.09, 9:59 pm

Christmas passed without bloodshed, you�re hopefully pleased to hear. I passed much of the two and a half days in New Mills on a gentle sea of alcohol, which made everything a lot more bearable. Amanda wasn�t as bad as last year; she was pulling the usual alpha-female bullshit, but the wine made me amazingly apathetic to it all. Falling off the wagon was definitely one of my greater achievements. By the last day she was decidedly unfriendly, so I definitely timed the stay well. I received a perfunctory hug and then sailed off to the train station, and proceeded to spend three years crawling my way up the country to Dumfries.

The Dumfries part of the holiday was lovely, as it always is. Most of my time was spent sat in front of the open fire doing cryptic crosswords with the boy, and then drinking lots of wine in the evening. We did a lot of relative visiting, where I performed adequately, and the huge Family Gathering meal went relatively smoothly, thanks to my friend, Mr White Wine Ooh Go On Just A Splash More Then. New Year�s Eve was spent at some random party at James�s sister�s friend�s house. I knew nobody, but when midnight struck we were all kissing and hugging away merrily. Staggered home, slightly pissed, had another drink with James�s parents, finally went to bed, woke up and gave James his birthday presents, and was eventually allowed to go back to bed and sleep off the vague hangover. Finally got back to Sheffield on the 4th January and yes, generally had an ace time.

Not happy being back at work, not least because it�s suddenly hideously busy, and we have various visitors coming next week to use the equipment and I shall have to teach them and boss them around because my supervisor is currently on a cruise in the Caribbean. Payday isn�t for another three weeks and I have bugger all money already. Apparently we�re all knobbing over to Andy�s house on Burns� Night to eat haggis and drink whiskey, and play Articulate and Guitar Hero (decidedly unScottish, but hey) because it�s been at least three weeks since everyone was jointly hungover at work.

James has just left, after Masterchef had finished. He had his usual solution to what would cheer me up when he knows I have a traumatic day approaching, which is having sex. Bless... points for effort at least. Yes, it�s anniversary day tomorrow, which is why my heart�s not really in this update. It�s been ten years, which makes it seem like it should be a special kind of anniversary, though I�m spending it at work. I should probably go visit the bench or something, but I doubt I will. Hopefully the endless meetings I have tomorrow will keep me distracted.

last - next