buffylass
navigation
current
archives
profile
extras
links
rings
cast
contact
email
gbook
notes
credit
host
design
friends
dangerspouse
skinny-bum
annie-cam
shot-of-tea
skinnypics
randomrabbit
kate-lee
the-moo
clairecav
theswordsman
frogeye
skinnylizzie
wombaby
stepfordtart
strawberrri
student-bum
onlyemma
lilkate
blujeans-uk

Of snow and snow and snow and snow
02.02.09, 9:42 pm

Have just come back from a walk in the snow with James � frickin� LOVE the lovely snow. There�s currently a line of buses trying to reverse up the hill by my house after becoming stranded there at 4pm, so I�m trying not to watch their progress lest they skid and smash through the front of the house. But yes, apart from that it�s just bloody fantastic. Took a load of slightly rubbish night-time snowy photos, but my camera adapter�s at James�s house so they�ll have to wait.

Spent most of work standing on a lab chair watching the snow out of the window. Hopefully by tomorrow it�ll have snowed so much that I won�t be able to go to work, and will therefore be free to dick about taking yet more snow pictures.

Anyway, what�s been happening recently? Well, the gig last night was a bit crap, mainly because I didn�t really enjoy the music that we were playing, and I�m assuming that�s the main reason why I didn�t get any buzz whatsoever out of playing. I was talking to Andy at work today, who�s jokingly talked of us doing something musicy together, and I think it�s now going to become an actual musicy thing, which would be nice. We�ll see. This performing thing is still VERY new to me, and I�m still unsure whether it�s something that I�m a) good enough to do and b) want to do.

It�s apparently my grandmother�s 80th on the 11th Feb, and so we�re all descending on Nottingham that weekend for a birthday lunch. I�m 95% sure that my gran�s already turned 80, or has at least claimed to have, but that is by the by. What someone buys their grandmother for an 80th birthday present is sadly still eluding me, but I�m hoping inspiration will eventually strike. She rang me this afternoon to check that I hadn�t gotten trapped in a local snow drift. I hadn�t.

Relatively uneventful weekend, illustrated by James turning to me on the bus into town and thoughtfully asking: �Do you ever wonder what�s happened to Carol Smilie?�

No.

Mel�s coming down to Sheffield this weekend to go on a date with one of Rich�s friends that we met in Penrith, and who lives in Nuneaton. Could be an interesting relationship if they get it together. Becky rang the other night about the impending wedding, and was so bossy and demanding that I had to ring Mel straight after and moan, before feeling like a complete bitch. Becky is my best friend and I should be looking forward to the wedding, and I am in a way, but she�s just being so selfish and demanding that I flip out a little bit and then feel like a complete git afterwards.

Lastly, went to Andy�s house with the rest of work for a Burns Night party, which was very successful, culminating in me having to carry Julia down the road towards the main road to get a taxi after she managed to fall into two separate bushes upon leaving the house. Hangovers all around the next morning. Work is hideously busy at the moment and everyone keeps telling me to do a PhD and I DON�T WANT TO DO ONE. Even though I know that I should.

Okay, better do some guitar practise and then phone my grandmother. Very very sleepy however, as the walk home, which normally takes me 35 mins and is a good two miles uphill, was completely knackering due to the snow. Plus, when I got home I realised that all my mascara had run owing to the snow-in-face situation, and I looked completely ridiculous. Oh well. I already looked completely ridiculous thanks to my boy hat and lesbian walking boots. One of these days I�ll turn into a real girl.

last - next