buffylass
navigation
current
archives
profile
extras
links
rings
cast
contact
email
gbook
notes
credit
host
design
friends
dangerspouse
skinny-bum
annie-cam
shot-of-tea
skinnypics
randomrabbit
kate-lee
the-moo
clairecav
theswordsman
frogeye
skinnylizzie
wombaby
stepfordtart
strawberrri
student-bum
onlyemma
lilkate
blujeans-uk

Of drinking and kitchen floors
01.03.09, 11:46 am

Have drunk every night since Wednesday, and culminated in a total wine-fest last night, where me and James got pretty pissed and he refused to let me go into the kitchen unless I �sashayed� in there whilst standing on his feet. Need to stop this slide into alcoholism relatively soon, as I do not want to turn into my father in any way. His latest attempt at quitting smoking, along with Amandroid, has failed, and I am so very unsurprised. Obviously nobody likes a smug ex-smoker (i.e. me), but his worsening health problems are making it a bit of a joke now. To be honest, it�s partly Amandroid�s fault, as she has no interest in quitting and clearly likes the fact that my dad smokes too, as it gives her someone to do it with, and so she�s completely discouraging about the whole thing. If he has a heart attack I shall personally kick her teeth in.

Been a while since my last entry, yet again. Apologies for this, though I have a good excuse this time: James�s mother has been down, helping James paint his bedroom and refloor the kitchen, so I spent a lot of evenings with them, and then suffered from such horrific hormones that it was all I could do to stop myself from giving up on life and hiding under the covers all day. And everyone knows that Hormones Time is no time to write a diary entry. Anyway, I�m here now.

The kitchen floor is still not finished, unfortunately. I�ve been made to help this weekend, in between the endless rugby, and had to spend a horrible 30 minutes in the evil claustrophobia-enducing basement holding bits of wood whilst James sawed pieces off of them. It already looks better than the previous bit of manky carpet, which had a variety of black marks on it from various frying pans of food that we�d dropped onto it by accident.

It�s SSC time at work again (second year medics doing a 6-week research placement). God, they all look so young. I�m 24 in a few weeks time, and it scares the life out of me. Anyway, the floor�s suddenly heaving with people, and you see endless trails of bewildered looking students following harassed staff members. Our group has 4 to look after, and they start properly on Monday - one already looks like she�s about to cry at any second, especially as she totally fadged up the presentation that they all had to give last Friday at our lab meeting, and had to be told that she�d completely misunderstood the journals that she�d been given as background reading. Felt really quite sorry for her.

Off to Nando�s tomorrow lunchtime with Ju for some chickeny goodness. No real reason for it, other than it just having been pay-day and the fact that work is a bit dull. The boy has just gone off to play korfball, so am sat looking at the menu online like I have some kind of food issue. I�m also doing the incredibly geeky thing of filling in all the missing album artwork for my Ipod. Should probably leave the house at least once today.

A snippet from our wonderfully romantic Valentine�s Day to finish, I think. Actually it was quite nice, as James cooked a lovely meal and we had lots of lovely wine (AA alert). This as we propped our cards up on the mantlepiece:

Me: We�re so good with our cards. You did better than me though... mine has lovebirds on it.
James: Yeah, I�m definitely winning.
Me: Bless... �Valentine�s Day lovebirds. Together forever.� Mmm, bit creepy. Apparently I can never leave now.
James: Does it say that? To be honest, I didn�t even read the front.
Me: It�s okay. You only got that card because it was the only non-mushy one in the hospital card shop at work.

last - next