buffylass
navigation
current
archives
profile
extras
links
rings
cast
contact
email
gbook
notes
credit
host
design
friends
dangerspouse
skinny-bum
annie-cam
shot-of-tea
skinnypics
randomrabbit
kate-lee
the-moo
clairecav
theswordsman
frogeye
skinnylizzie
wombaby
stepfordtart
strawberrri
student-bum
onlyemma
lilkate
blujeans-uk

Of birthdays and God
22.10.09, 11:33 pm

I shall attempt to multitask tonight and write this entry whilst watching Question Time, though the presence of the BNP may cause me to become extra grumpy and CAPSLOCK-HAPPY.

Hideous week at work, as I was commanded to do an insane amount of work in a tiny space of time, so that Uber Boss had all the data to take to a very important meeting tomorrow. Hopefully said meeting will go well tomorrow, otherwise an entire year of my work will have been completely wasted. Anyway, managed to get it all finished in time, thank God, though was a bit embarrassing when I hiked it up to O Floor to get someone to print some things out on A3 for me, and as they loaded up my data stick on their computer saw that Ju had renamed it JAMES BOND without me noticing.

It was also Ju�s birthday today, so had a total lard-smeared day filled with donuts, cookies and cheese burgers at the Devonshire Cat. This led to hyped-up madness in the lab, where we blasted out Phil Collins and Celine Dion and hooted along to it in the background, swaying and making power fists. Don�t think Mini Boss was terribly impressed, but was possibly being more lax owing to the Birthday Fact.

My God, Nick Griffin is totally odious.

Seeing Becky was a bit of an ordeal last weekend. We did have a chat about how she�s been a pretty crap friend all year, and that went okay; Becky admitted that she�d been rubbish and said sorry, and said that things would be better after Christmas. I�m not convinced that that�s going to be the case, but it was at least something. A lot of the evening, though, was filled with her and Nick talking to each other (I had no opinion to give) about God. About how Mormons are wrong and misguided; about how the Bible is the only book of scripture that is right (though it�s funny how other religious books are full of similar scripture); how modern day prophets exist, and that one prophesised about them and was proved right; that God was talking to Becky only the other day and telling her to tell some woman in front of her something.

It just went on and on and on and I felt so uncomfortable, because I didn�t share their opinion and didn�t feel like I could contribute to the conversation in any way. I don�t mind anyone having a faith � I hope that everyone can see that � but Becky�s continual pushing of her�s onto me is awful. Her and Nick know that I don�t share their views, and yet go on regardless, not thinking of how I feel. If Becky were a guest at my house, I would never sit with James and chat about how much I love Richard Dawkins, say, and agree with all of his opinions. I would consider that much too rude. Becky does not, and I guess that�s the fundamental difference between us.

Man, very tired now. James was ill all last weekend so I was his personal nurse, and now I think I�m coming down with the same thing. He did come round last night with paracetamol and satsumas for me though, so is at least embracing his own nursing role. Need to sleep now though; apologies for the Becky rant. Sometimes you just need to write these things out of your system.

last - next