buffylass
navigation
current
archives
profile
extras
links
rings
cast
contact
email
gbook
notes
credit
host
design
friends
dangerspouse
skinny-bum
annie-cam
shot-of-tea
skinnypics
randomrabbit
kate-lee
the-moo
clairecav
theswordsman
frogeye
skinnylizzie
wombaby
stepfordtart
strawberrri
student-bum
onlyemma
lilkate
blujeans-uk

The traditional quiz entry
02.01.10, 3:23 pm

1. What did you do in 2009 that you�d never done before?
Became a bridesmaid and saw one of my closest friends get married, had a driving test, saw Girls Aloud. It's only question 1 and I'm already struggling to remember what I did all of last year.

2. Did you keep your new year�s resolutions, and will you make more for next year?
I appear to have given up answering this question anymore.

3. Did anyone close to you give birth?
Various people have popped out babies at work, but no one terribly close to me. This is just fine: babies unnerve me.

4. Did anyone close to you die?
No, this year I have been blessed.

5. What countries did you visit?
Sadly, Cornwall is not a country, so none. Oh, Scotland if that counts. And wait, I went over to Northern Ireland as well!

6. What would you like to have in 2010 that you lacked in 2009?
Drive and focus with regards to my career and the neverending should-I-do-a-PhD saga.

7. What date from 2009 will remain etched upon your memory, and why?
Like I said, I'm struggling with the details of the year. Maybe 23rd May, which was Becky's wedding day.

8. What was your biggest achievement of the year?
Passing my driving test first time! I always though that I'd be dreadful at driving and too nervous to pass the test. One out of two isn't bad, I guess.


9. What was your biggest failure?
Not going to the dentist for 6 years, culminating in a Very Sad Day At The Dentist in July.

10. Did you suffer illness or injury?
A mangled tooth. A few colds. Same old ridiculous heart.

11. What was the best thing you bought?
Frankly, who knows where all of my money has gone this year. I'll say the presents that I bought for James, as he loved them.

12. Whose behaviour merited celebration?
MINE. Not really... erm, James, Mel, my gran. Most of my friends have been wonderful this year, to be honest.

13. Whose behaviour made you appalled and depressed?
I wouldn't say appalled and depressed, but Becky's been a bit trying at times, and Lisa's worrying me with her kamikaze attitude to her new girlfriend.

14. Where did most of your money go?
THAT'S WHAT I'D LIKE TO KNOW. Rent and driving lessons, I think.

15. What did you get really, really, really excited about?
Seeing Girls Aloud in concert, going to the Lakes with the kids, Doctor Who.

16. What song will always remind you of 2009?
One Day Like This by Elbow, as it was the song that Becky walked down the aisle to. Don't Worry Baby by the Beach Boys, as we had the Beach Boys on in the car constantly when James and I went to Cornwall.

17. Compared to this time last year, are you:
i. happier or sadder? Happier and sadder, with regard to different things.
ii. thinner or fatter? Thinner.
iii. richer or poorer? Richer, somehow.

18. What do you wish you�d done more of?
I wish I'd seen more of my friends, though having them scattered throughout the UK makes it difficult.

19. What do you wish you�d done less of?
Worrying about something that I haven't even had the courage to write about in here. Drunk less alcohol.

20. How will you be spending Christmas?
With Mave the Rave and my sister down in Nottingham, where I was fed to obesity and back and then soaked in wine.

21. How will you be spending New Year?
With James at a friend's wedding in Dumfries. It was a very Catholicy service and I was made to sing Shine Jesus Shine, but the evening ceilidh made everything better again.

22. Did you fall in love in 2009?
Still already in.

23. How many one-night stands?
Still none.

24. What was your favourite TV programme?
The Apprentice and Peep Show.

25. Do you hate anyone now that you didn�t hate this time last year?
No, that's pointless.

26. What was the best book you read?
Bleak House by Charles Dickens.

27. What was your greatest musical discovery?
The Duke and The King and The Do (thanks to James, as always. As Lisa pointed out recently, I don't seem to own much music past the 70s.) Oh, and I discovered Joni Mitchell again.

28. What did you want and get?
Love and support, lots of hugs, Harry Potter 6 on DVD.

29. What did you want and not get?
Enough sleep.

30. What was your favourite film of this year?
Argh memory block. I can't think of a single film that I saw last year, but I'm sure at least one of them was good.

31. What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you?
24. I think I was at work, and then spent the evening with James. This sudden amnesia is starting to worry me now. Oh hang on, at the weekend I went down to Leicester and spent some time with James's family.

32. What is one thing that would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying?
Less worrying, less tiredness, less palpitations.

33. How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2009?
Haphazardous at best.

34. What kept you sane?
Loved ones, music, writing, guitar, alcohol.

35. Which celebrity/public figure did you fancy the most?
Still Cheryl Cole, though I think the magic's starting to wane.

36. What political issue stirred you the most?
The expenses scandal.

37. Who did you miss?
The usual suspects.

38. Who was the best new person you met?
Em's lovely boyfriend, Brian.

39. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2009.
A person can have a hell of a lot of palpitations and still be perfectly fine.

40. Quote a song lyric that sums up your year.
"I'd like to celebrate you, dear/ All in all, it's been a pretty good year/ Oh James, my love for you is stronger, don't you know.

James by Camera Obscura.

Happy New Year, guys.

last - next