buffylass
navigation
current
archives
profile
extras
links
rings
cast
contact
email
gbook
notes
credit
host
design
friends
dangerspouse
skinny-bum
annie-cam
shot-of-tea
skinnypics
randomrabbit
kate-lee
the-moo
clairecav
theswordsman
frogeye
skinnylizzie
wombaby
stepfordtart
strawberrri
student-bum
onlyemma
lilkate
blujeans-uk

Of January and Avatar
19.01.10, 9:14 pm

I really hate January. It�s cold and dark, it�s associated with hideous memories and it�s utterly uneventful because I was last paid in the middle of December. This does not inspire me to write entries.

So, last week was anniversary week, which is the one week of the year when I allow myself to be antisocial and crap company. This year it clashed with Hormones Week, so it was particularly crap. I wore the same hoodie every day to work, didn�t go to my friend�s surprise birthday party (to be fair to me, it was in Harrogate), listened to a lot of angry rock music and got utterly plastered one night because I�d had enough of feeling sad. I also didn�t tell anyone what was going on except James. This is not how a normal person would deal with their problems. Next year I will try to deal with anniversary week better.

So, work�s currently hideous and utterly soul-destroying and my dad and sister haven�t spoken to me since Boxing Day (thanks, guys). There is an exciting development though, which is that we�ve all but booked the Alaska trip. Bar any last-minute developments, we�re leaving on the 29th May and coming back on the 18th June. ARGH HIDEOUS FLYING PHOBIA GOING TO BE BLOWN UP BY A TERROIST ARGH. I think we�re going to spend a few days in Chicago on the way over, to break up the flight a bit, and then spend a week or so in Anchorage with James�s family, before going down the Kenai Peninsula and doing some kayaking and things. Very excited, and also a bit terrified. I have to do this though � I can�t sit at home and never leave the country and have an adventure (oh God, clich� alert), because that�s just depressing, and now�s the perfect time because I�m not tied down by anything. So man up, buddy.

Saw Avatar at the weekend, in all its 3-D glory. The 3-D actually made me feel quite ill, and it turns out that very few people can pull off the Buddy Holly glasses. Anyway, I didn�t think it was as great as everyone�s making out. Sure, it was incredibly beautiful and lovely to look at, but the storyline was just Poccahontas crossed with Dancing with Wolves, and applying this template made it very easy to predict who would die. I did laugh at the rare, oh-my-God-we-must-kill-this-indigenous-population-in-a-ridiculous-and-unrealistically-bloodythirsty-way-because-we�re-such-capitalist-scum harvested mineral being called Unobtanium. Unobtanium? Seriously?

Mel and Becky are coming down this weekend, which�ll be an excellent distraction from the hideousness of January. Not that February will be much better, except it has Pancake Day. And then, it�ll be March and I�ll be BLOODY TWENTY FIVE and the world will stop turning.

Sorry, I have nothing else to say because I�ve been in such a funk for the last fortnight. I might go try and ring my dad. Or, you know, just eat another biscuit.

last - next