buffylass
navigation
current
archives
profile
extras
links
rings
cast
contact
email
gbook
notes
credit
host
design
friends
dangerspouse
skinny-bum
annie-cam
shot-of-tea
skinnypics
randomrabbit
kate-lee
the-moo
clairecav
theswordsman
frogeye
skinnylizzie
wombaby
stepfordtart
strawberrri
student-bum
onlyemma
lilkate
blujeans-uk

Of grandma and musk oxen
22.05.10, 1:08 pm

�Mave the Rave, aka GRANDMA, has recently joined Facebook. Would you like to add her as a friend?� MY WORLD IS ASKEW. What is going on? Why is she on Facebook? My gran is very much a working progress � she still gets confused about the function of the minimise button! My dad has already added her as a friend, for reasons unknown, and James has just texted to say that he wants to add her as a friend too. Everyone�s gone utterly mental.

So, bit of a lull in my updating. Shockingly, this corresponds to the lull that�s currently happening in my life. Work is horrifically tedious � there�s a light at the end of the tunnel, and things will get interesting again eventually, but at the moment it�s dreadful. I did have some good news this morning, though � Andy rang to tell me that one of our papers has been accepted by JBMR, and will consequently be published soon. This brings my number of published papers up to 5, which I guess is somewhat of an achievement.

I�m currently having a wonderful doctor-themed month: on Monday I�m booked in for last-minute-suddenly-checked-my-dates-and-panicked tetanus and polio boosters, and last week I went in for a frankly dreadful smear test. Apologies for any boys reading thing, but some things just have to be moaned about. For some reason I�d been booked in with the doctor, which Em always told me never to do because doctors are woefully under-practised and hate doing them, and she proceeded to do the most brutal smear test known to man, along with three billion swaps and a wonderfully fun internal exam. And then she has the nerve to be surprised when I started bleeding. Somehow I managed to resist shouting, �Aaaargh, get your hands out of my reproductive parts, you cack-handed fuckwit!� Results any day now... I would not be surprised if they just stated MYSTERIOUSLY BARREN.

James is in Dumfries this weekend, as his granddad is in hospital and his parents have to go to a wedding tonight, so I�ve been designated Clothes Washer whilst he�s away. This is because Alaska is fast approaching (this time next week I�ll be over the Atlantic Ocean somewhere) and we need to start the hideous process of packing soon. Also, as is tradition, because I�m soon to be flying there has been a clutch of horrible tragic aeroplane crashes. I�ve given up reading the news � between the crashes and the ash cloud, it�s just utterly depressing.

But my God, Chicago and Alaska is nearly here! I�ve definitely got to stop myself from wheeling out my dreadful generic American accent when over there, which basically consists of me saying, �Right! Good job!� incredibly nasally whilst James rolls his eyes. I looked up moose on Wikipedia the other day at work, and newborn season just happens to be late May-June time, i.e. EXACTLY WHEN I WILL BE THERE. Moose make me unhealthily excited. As do musk oxen.

Hello!

I�ve had a headache for the past three days now. It�s driving me insane. I�m off to go sit in the sunshine.

last - next