buffylass
navigation
current
archives
profile
extras
links
rings
cast
contact
email
gbook
notes
credit
host
design
friends
dangerspouse
skinny-bum
annie-cam
shot-of-tea
skinnypics
randomrabbit
kate-lee
the-moo
clairecav
theswordsman
frogeye
skinnylizzie
wombaby
stepfordtart
strawberrri
student-bum
onlyemma
lilkate
blujeans-uk

Of gynae and The King's Speech
29.01.11, 9:59 pm

The scan results weren't brilliant, to be honest. According to the pelvic scans that I had, I have Polycystic Ovary Syndrome (PCOS), which is where there are too many follicles around the ovaries and can lead to infertility and type II diabetes. Happily, if it's confirmed then I should be on the mild end of the spectrum, as the phenotype for it is very fat, very hairy and lacking in periods, and I am none of these. This should mean that I won't have any problems having children, thank God. Anyway, I have to have a blood test this week to check my hormone levels (another way of confirming I have PCOS), and then my GP will refer me on to a gynaecologist.

In the meantime, the GP put me on a week's worth of double antibiotics, just in case the pelvic pain I'm experiencing is due to an infection. This is because the GP doesn't believe the PCOS is the cause of my pain, and is just a lovely side-addition. I can confirm it's not an infection, and that the antibiotics I was on were the worst things ever created by human hands. It's been a v. sad, sickly week, and even more sad-makingly, I was forbidden to drink alcohol whilst on them, so couldn't even lift my spirits the good old-fashioned way.

The boy is currently away for the week; he's off skiing in the Alps. Batting solo is going okay so far, though I keep doing my usual thing at bed time of freaking out at every possible creaky house noise.

It's Grandma's birthday soon, and I've promised that we'll take her to see The King's Speech as a birthday treat. I don't want to see this film even slightly, but she thinks the royal family are the bestest things of all the things so I'll just have to suck it up. Oh God, I wish we had a dog or something. A dog would make everything better.

last - next