buffylass
navigation
current
archives
profile
extras
links
rings
cast
contact
email
gbook
notes
credit
host
design
friends
dangerspouse
skinny-bum
annie-cam
shot-of-tea
skinnypics
randomrabbit
kate-lee
the-moo
clairecav
theswordsman
frogeye
skinnylizzie
wombaby
stepfordtart
strawberrri
student-bum
onlyemma
lilkate
blujeans-uk

Of temporary crowns and haircuts
20.02.11, 11:18 am

I had my hair cut yesterday, so no longer look like Bag Lady. Haircuts are really quite unenjoyable occasions - there's always that panic that something's going to go horribly wrong and you're then buggered for 6 months. I always see it as a challenge to see how far through the haircut experience I can get before the following questions are asked: a) are you going out tonight? b) where are you going on holiday this year? c) where did you go on holiday last year? Still, haircut is done for another 5 months.

Shall we talk about my medical ailments? First, to my tooth, which everyone is sick to death of. I had a temporary crown fitted on it last week due to this crack that the dentist can't find. Now, I went into this thinking that it'd be a piece of cake, because my tooth is now nerveless thanks to the root canal. However, to prep the tooth for a crown you have to take off a couple of mms all the way around, which involved the drill going very close to my gum, i.e. cutting my gum to ribbons. He'd given me some anaesthetic beforehand but even so, it was pretty sore. And then, to make matters worse, when he cemented the temporary crown on he had to make sure that there wasn't a load of cement stuck to my gums, so proceeded to poke about in my sad, cut gums with a sharp, pointy tool. There was lots of blood; I don't particularly want to do it ever again.

Anyway, initially I thought that it hadn't worked and that I would have to have the tooth extracted (arrggg), but now I think it may actually had been quite successful. I don't want to get my hopes up though, otherwise it'll be uber sad when I have to have the whole sorry tooth pulled. Saying that though, my Facebook status yesterday did read, 'Holly might not have to have the sad tooth extracted, which is obviously quite exciting in a mundane sort of way.' 6 people from work like that status, which I think translates as, 'Oh thank God, Holly is finally going to shut the hell up about her bloody tooth'.

As for my weird gynaecological pain, well that's no closer to being solved. I got my blood test results back and they're all normal, which is great news as it means that my PCOS is going to be very mild. However, the weird pain remains. I have to go back in a month and reassess everything, and then will get referred on to a gynaecologist. I can't wait to show another complete stranger all my bits and pieces.

Good news: my gran ADORED The King's Speech last weekend, and got thoroughly sloshed at the meal afterwards, so the birthday was a roaring success. Bad news: my friend Mel's still very unwell and no one really seems to know what's wrong with her. More than anything, I'm worried about her mental state... they're talking about putting her on anti-depressants for a while, and it's all just a bit shit and scary. I think I'll go and see her soon.

Right, better go do something productive. Well, I say that but I'll probably just stay here on the sofa, if I'm honest.

last - next