buffylass
navigation
current
archives
profile
extras
links
rings
cast
contact
email
gbook
notes
credit
host
design
friends
dangerspouse
skinny-bum
annie-cam
shot-of-tea
skinnypics
randomrabbit
kate-lee
the-moo
clairecav
theswordsman
frogeye
skinnylizzie
wombaby
stepfordtart
strawberrri
student-bum
onlyemma
lilkate
blujeans-uk

Something about Hogmanay
31.12.11, 6:00 pm

I'm currently at James's parents' house, spending my days eating, drinking, sitting by the fire, reading, writing and playing guitar. It's blissful, and is doing me the world of good. There are no great plans for tonight, except to not give myself a hangover for James's birthday tomorrow. I've got to go start the dinner in a minute, so can't be long, but I just wanted to wish all of my wonderful readers a very happy New Year. Moronic end-of-year quiz below! HAPPY 2012!

1. What did you do in 2011 that you�d never done before?
Met Martin Simpson at a guitar workshop, which was a total joy Went to an internation conference with work. Played Rapidough. Had a crown fitted.

2. Did you keep your new year�s resolutions, and will you make more for next year?
Last year's quiz confirms that I made none, so my new year's resolution is to continue this tradition.

3. Did anyone close to you give birth?
Becky currently has a bun in the oven, which I guess counts. Hope I don't drop it when it comes to checking it out.

4. Did anyone close to you die?
James's grandad died, and it was all pretty devastating.

5. What countries did you visit?
Ireland and Italy. One was a lot sunnier than the other.

6. What would you like to have in 2012 that you lacked in 2011?
A bigger house... maybe 2012 is the year we finally start house-hunting.

7. What date from 2011 will remain etched upon your memory, and why?
Nothing that specific springs to mind, but then again I always struggle to remember 12 months of stuff.

8. What was your biggest achievement of the year?
I got another Exceptional Contribution Award at work, which entitles me to a tiny bonus and a tiny pay-rise. Frankly, I'll take anything I can get.

9. What was your biggest failure?
STILL haven't driven on my own.

10. Did you suffer illness or injury?
My tooth was still buggered, so had to have an extremely painful crown fitted. I had a fortnight of not being able to eat anything but soup due to some mystery bug, and am still slowly recovering.

11. What was the best thing you bought?
Skyrim for PS3... nerds of the world, unite! Also, some amazing ice-cream whilst in Italy.

12. Whose behaviour merited celebration?
MINE! Sorry, I'm sure I always make that joke. James continues to be the most amazing person that I know. My friends, gran and sister are equally fantastic.

13. Whose behaviour made you appalled and depressed?
No prizes for guessing who, once again.

14. Where did most of your money go?
Dentist, medical bills, rent, wine.

15. What did you get really, really, really excited about?
My Martin Simpson workshop, though it was equal parts excitement and fear. Going to Rome.

16. What song will always remind you of 2011?
Long Distance Lullaby by Stornoway, as me and James played it in the car a lot.

17. Compared to this time last year, are you:
i. happier or sadder? Still happy.
ii. thinner or fatter? Thinner due to enforced fast.
iii. richer or poorer? About the same.

18. What do you wish you�d done more of?
Seeing friends, which I'm pretty sure I wrote last year too.

19. What do you wish you�d done less of?
Fretting. Eating cheese. Shoving things under my bed rather than tidying them away.

20. How will you be spending Christmas?
I spent it at my gran's, along with my sister. We cooked a turkey crown, got quite drunk on some weird Jordanian wine that my sister brought back from her holiday and then watched Downton Abbey in the evening. It was ace.

21. How will you be spending New Year?
With the boy and his family, trying not to get too tipsy so as to avoid a hangover on his birthday the following day.

22. Did you fall in love in 2011?
Still there. 5 years and counting!

23. How many one-night stands?
None.

24. What was your favourite TV programme?
Masterchef: The Professionals. Doctor Who. The Apprentice. The Killing.

25. Do you hate anyone now that you didn�t hate this time last year?No, hating's boring. I don't even hate Amanda � I just think she's a moron.

26. What was the best book you read?
Grapes of Wrath by Steinbeck. Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins. The Counte of Monte Cristo by Dumas was also great.

27. What was your greatest musical discovery?
Argh, pretentious question alert!

28. What did you want and get?
Publications from work. A renewal of my contract. Lots of love.

29. What did you want and not get?
A cat. Come on, James, get over the whole acute allergy thing!

30. What was your favourite film of this year?
I really liked The King's Speech.

31. What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you?
I was 26 and James took me to Louth on an amazing birthday weekend. We stayed at a B&B that served a 9-course dinner where every course was tiny and totally epic. It was one of my most favourite weekends ever.

32. What is one thing that would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying?
Being out the other side of CBT. Having my friends live next door like in the old days.

33. How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2011?
As tatty as ever.

34. What kept you sane?
The boy. Mel and Ju. Cups of tea. Walking.

35. Which celebrity/public figure did you fancy the most?
The new Strictly Come Dancing pro dancer was pretty tasty.

36. What political issue stirred you the most?
The Arab Spring.

37. Who did you miss?
Marc, who has gone back to La Belle France. The usual people, always.

38. Who was the best new person you met?
Not so much new, but I've spent more time with James's friends Emma and David, and they're both ace.

39. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2011.
Just eating soup is really boring, but an excellent way of losing weight quite quickly. CBT is really hardcore. Spearmint plants are really hard to keep alive.

40. Quote a song lyric that sums up your year.
'If you find yourself caught in love, say a prayer to the man above,
Thank him for everything you know, you should thank him for every breath you blow.'

last - next