buffylass
navigation
current
archives
profile
extras
links
rings
cast
contact
email
gbook
notes
credit
host
design
friends
dangerspouse
skinny-bum
annie-cam
shot-of-tea
skinnypics
randomrabbit
kate-lee
the-moo
clairecav
theswordsman
frogeye
skinnylizzie
wombaby
stepfordtart
strawberrri
student-bum
onlyemma
lilkate
blujeans-uk

Something about January and itchy ears
10.01.12, 10:44 pm

God, I hate January. It's cold, wet, and dark, and has nothing to show for itself except anniversaries of deaths and endless days at work. Instead of wandering around outside doing lovely things at the weekends, I instead find myself doing boring-but-necessary things such as tidying the space at the bottom of the wardrobe and trying to shampoo out the big coffee stain from the carpet in the front room. This is not what 26 year-olds were built to do; I should be out gallivanting and setting fire to things, not sorting out the bed linen cupboard. Sometimes I think I deserve to turn 27 in three months' time (argh).

James is going off skiing for a week on the 19th, with zero regard for my potential loneliness. Every time I bring it up he tries to look contrite but just ends up with a little secretive grin on his face, and I know he's picturing himself whizzing down the mountainside in his new skiing boots. Anyway, I'm busy planning lots of fun things, so that at the time I don't end up overly lonely and worried about axe murderers. I'm going to go guitar shopping with my dad*, and see the lovely Zoe amongst others. And maybe just get a bit drunk every night so I don't think about the axe-wielding burglars.

* Really quite excited about this: going to buy a lovely electro-acoustic guitar. Plus, it should be quite fun as Bloody Amanda won't be there and my dad's actually pretty great when she's not around. Am going to probably stay the night though, so will have to interact with her later on and pretend to care about her chronic rhinitis that would clear right up if she stopped smoking horrible roll-ups every 45 minutes.

James's mum is down tomorrow for a couple of days, as her best friend is graduating from Sheffield (mature student, obviously). Consequently, we have to go out for dinner with her and more of their friends tomorrow night. I guess this is one of the prices you pay for being in a relationship: going to dinner with strangers when all you want to do is stay at home and watch Bones with a mint Aero.

My stupid itchy ear and/or throat is still refusing to shift, despite having been here since December. It's like having a permenant, low-grade allergy, except it is because I've already knacked the anti-histamines to no effect. It's gotten so irritating and boring that everyone automatically zones out whenever I start going on about it. I'm resisting going to the GP though, as I'm sure he already thinks I'm a bit mad from the time I stumbled into his surgery and had a bit of a breakdown over not being able to eat. And 'itchy ear' is even in the same sorry league as that.

Dentist on Thursday. Sigh.

last - next