buffylass
navigation
current
archives
profile
extras
links
rings
cast
contact
email
gbook
notes
credit
host
design
friends
dangerspouse
skinny-bum
annie-cam
shot-of-tea
skinnypics
randomrabbit
kate-lee
the-moo
clairecav
theswordsman
frogeye
skinnylizzie
wombaby
stepfordtart
strawberrri
student-bum
onlyemma
lilkate
blujeans-uk

An entry dedicated to Serious Chats
10.02.12, 9:14 pm

Vaguely serious entry tonight � be warned.

Went for a walk in the snow on Sunday afternoon with the boy and had a talk about the future. This is quite a big deal for the pair of us; we usually avoid serious Life chats like the plague. We talked about moving house and our aspirations to do with work, and... I dunno. To summarize: we'll almost certainly move house, but the future is uncertain. Obviously I know it's highly unlikely that both me and James will stay at our jobs forever, and that we probably won't even stay in Sheffield forever, but it still makes me a unsettled to think of it. Like most people, I guess, I like feeling settled and secure. I'm not the kind of person who enjoys moving about a lot. I'm sure it'll be fine, though. Like I said to the boy, as long as I'm living with him, I don't really mind where it is. I mean, I do a bit obviously, but it seemed quite a romantic thing to say.

Wednesday night was date night, as we went out for a meal to belatedly celebrate our five-year anniversary. I was an utter pudding and just hoovered up food left, right and centre. It was fantastic, and yet also a little unnerving. The boy got quite drunk, and consequently decided to let some emotions slip, as is his way. We had quite a serious chat (again), and it turns out that he would like to have a baby at some point, which threw me a little as he's never expressed much of a desire before. So I think we're going to have a baby, but definitely not now. I think he's just feeling his age a bit (he's 30 in January), and to be honest I am too. I know I'm only going to be 27 in March, but whenever I think about having children I always figure I'll have them 'in a few years' time'. Which is all fine and dandy, except in a few years' time I'll be 30, and can't exactly play the same cards again that time round. It's all a bit scary and adult. And I think that's all I have to say about that.

In more frivolous news, we're off to see grandma tomorrow as it's her 83rd birthday. She's been given free rein as to the activities of the day and has decided that she would like to go to an art gallery. This is fine � I can do cultured. I just hope it isn't an abstract gallery or anything similar, as that stuff just makes no sense whatsoever I like paintings of dry old dukes and duchesses, and children frolicking in the fields with faithful hounds; not weird shit. We shall see.

Work is currently hideous. I am basically an inch from a huge, gangrenous stomach ulcer. It's also bloody cold. Wine time!

Me: There's a very short person and a very tall person standing next to each other on Judge Judy � it looks mildly amusing.
Boy: That's how we look.
Me: But this woman is literally the smallest person in the world. Well, not literally, obviously.
Boy: No, that's you.

last - next