buffylass
navigation
current
archives
profile
extras
links
rings
cast
contact
email
gbook
notes
credit
host
design
friends
dangerspouse
skinny-bum
annie-cam
shot-of-tea
skinnypics
randomrabbit
kate-lee
the-moo
clairecav
theswordsman
frogeye
skinnylizzie
wombaby
stepfordtart
strawberrri
student-bum
onlyemma
lilkate
blujeans-uk

Something about curry and hippos
02.05.12, 7:27 pm

Just completed total gold-star Martha Stewart effort in the kitchen, making a curry from scratch on a school night due to best-before-date issues, and am now collapsed on sofa trying to recover before eating said effort. James has the snooker on; it's a sadness.

So, I had a week of strapping on the blood-pressure torture device at home. Because of my deep and ridiculous neurosis, I had James take the readings and then not tell me what they were. Everything went fine, and then I decided to have a look at the readings a week before my follow-up appointment, found out that they were a bit erratic and high at times, and proceeded to have a hormone-exacerbated freak-out. James came home and, bless him, was all, 'I wish you'd told me you were planning on looking at them, and then I could have broken it to you gently', like I'd just found out I had leprosy and was about to have my nose drop off.

Anyway, after all that I went to see the doctor today and she was fine with all of the readings and said that I had nothing to worry about. So the whole thing was a total storm in a teacup, as most of the health events are in my life, and was definitely not worth getting upset over. Pattern repeating is definitely not a total waste of time.

Becky gave birth to a wee baby girl yesterday, which is very exciting. She's named it Suki, which is a bit left-field and odd, and the whole thing has been made worse by James immediately saying, 'Suki? Mmm, not sure about that, sounds quite a lot like Sucky', as I'm now BOUND to call it that at some point. Going to go visit her in a month or so, when the stampede's calmed a bit. It makes me feel like I should do something monumental in my life too, now that Becky's had a baby, but I'm not really sure what.

Went down to London last weekend to visit various people and generally eat food like the biggest pudding alive. It rained a lot.

Fun fact: Hippos don't swim because the bones of their hind legs are totally solid and contain no bone marrow, so the BBC 1 ident of the hippos swimming is not factually correct. See, isn't it exciting knowing a total bone science bore? Maybe I should have one dull bone fact per update, really try hard to lose my last remaining loyal readers.

Curry time ahoy.

last - next