buffylass
navigation
current
archives
profile
extras
links
rings
cast
contact
email
gbook
notes
credit
host
design
friends
dangerspouse
skinny-bum
annie-cam
shot-of-tea
skinnypics
randomrabbit
kate-lee
the-moo
clairecav
theswordsman
frogeye
skinnylizzie
wombaby
stepfordtart
strawberrri
student-bum
onlyemma
lilkate
blujeans-uk

New Year Quiz 2013
31.12.13, 10:52 pm

Yep, it's rubbishy Sentimental New Year Quiz time...
1. What did you do in 2013 that you�d never done before?
Bought my own house. No one ever tells you, but as well as stressful and expensive, moving house is also really, really, grindingly boring. I also went to the Grand Prix at Monza.
2. Did you keep your new year�s resolutions, and will you make more for next year?
I don't think I ever make any of these things.
3. Did anyone close to you give birth?
No, Becky had her baby the year before, and is pregnant right now, but nothing for 2013!
4. Did anyone close to you die?
My wonderful friend Hannah came incredibly close, but no, thank God.
5. What countries did you visit?
Italy and the USA. Oh and Scotland, but that surely doesn't count anymore.
6. What would you like to have in 2014 that you lacked in 2013?
A desire to procrastinate less.
7. What date from 2013 will remain etched upon your memory, and why?
I guess 2nd July 2013, which is the date we moved into our joint house.
8. What was your biggest achievement of the year?
Buying a house. Taking 4 death-trap aeroplane flights. Achieving 83% in my Statistics module that I took with the Open University. Watching an entire Grand Prix in the flesh and not dying of boredom. Changing jobs to a more insecure but also more enjoyable position.
9. What was your biggest failure?
Becoming so beaten down by my extra heartbeat that I've gone onto long-term beta-blockers. I'm not sure this is a failure though � surely drugs are made and used because they're helpful and fulfil a need?
10. Did you suffer illness or injury?
Annoying illness in Miami whilst away at a conference. Endless bloody extra heartbeats. Nothing serious though.
11. What was the best thing you bought?
A house! A new coat! Some nice boots! A bigger telly! A new sofa that I didn't really buy because grandma forced me to accept payment for it as a house-warming present! A decent lawnmower!
12. Whose behaviour merited celebration?
Everyone's been pretty great, to be honest.
13. Whose behaviour made you appalled and depressed?
Walter White in Breaking Bad.
14. Where did most of your money go?
Buying a house and getting a mortgage. Oh God, it was so expensive.
15. What did you get really, really, really excited about?
Going to Italy with the boy. Changing jobs.
16. What song will always remind you of 2013?
Chvrches � The Mother We Share.
17. Compared to this time last year, are you:
i. happier or sadder? . Still happy.
ii. thinner or fatter? The same.
iii. richer or poorer? Poorer.
18. What do you wish you�d done more of?
Playing PS3 and writing.
19. What do you wish you�d done less of?
As always, worrying and procrastinating.
20. How will you be spending Christmas?
This year I spent it with James's family, and it was fantastic.
21. How will you be spending New Year?
Staying in with James's family, drinking wine and being with people who seem to like my company.
22. Did you fall in love in 2013?
Still in.
23. How many one-night stands?
None.
24. What was your favourite TV programme?
The Tunnel. Great British Bake-off. Breaking Bad. Game of Thrones.
25. Do you hate anyone now that you didn�t hate this time last year?
No, hating sucks.
26. What was the best book you read?
Dark Eden was good. Les Mis was good. I also finally finished the Wheel Of Time series.
27. What was your greatest musical discovery?
Chvrches are amazing and bring me a lot of joy.
28. What did you want and get?
A better job. A new coat.
29. What did you want and not get?
A marriage proposal.
30. What was your favourite film of this year?
I really enjoyed the second Hunger Games. I also watched Fargo yet again and it was still brilliant.
31. What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you?
I was 28. Me and the boy spent the weekend in Bath, bumbling around Cheddar Gorge and then finally heading up to Filey. It was fantastic.
32. What is one thing that would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying?
I'm not going to lie � I really wish James would propose to me. Argh, there I said it out loud!
33. How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2013?
A bit better than last year. I have a nice pair of boots now.
34. What kept you sane?
Work, friends, Bumble, guitar, alcohol.
35. Which celebrity/public figure did you fancy the most?
Mmm Ben Cohen.
36. What political issue stirred you the most?
The horrible Tories being horrible Tory shits all year.
37. Who did you miss?
The usuals.
38. Who was the best new person you met?
My wonderful BmedSci student Beccy.
39. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2013.
Living in weird old women's attics whilst you move between houses is stressful and unfun. You will spend a lot of your time in the cinema killing hours with films you're really not that bothered about.
40. Quote a song lyric that sums up your year.
�Look at the nights, now they don't seem so lonely, we fill it up with only two. And when I hurt, hurting runs off my shoulders, how can I hurt when holding you?�

last - next