buffylass
navigation
current
archives
profile
extras
links
rings
cast
contact
email
gbook
notes
credit
host
design
friends
dangerspouse
skinny-bum
annie-cam
shot-of-tea
skinnypics
randomrabbit
kate-lee
the-moo
clairecav
theswordsman
frogeye
skinnylizzie
wombaby
stepfordtart
strawberrri
student-bum
onlyemma
lilkate
blujeans-uk

Talking about Hannah
17.08.13, 10:00 am

As it always seems to be in life, just when everything seems to be going fantastically, something comes along to bring it all crashing down. Last weekend I had a fantastic time down in Warwickshire visiting Mel and Andy, who have just gotten engaged. We played crazy golf, and dicked around on a swan-shaped pedalo, and ate lots and lots of food, and then sat around the fire outside drinking beer and chatting. It was totally ace.

I was supposed to be seeing my old housemate, Hannah, last night, who was going to come down from Leeds for some dinner and stay over. And then her sister rang me at work yesterday morning to tell me that Hannah had been found collapsed in her flat, that she had been freezing cold and probably there for 24 hours, that her blood sugar levels were sky-high (Hannah's a Type 1 diabetic), and that she was now in ICU.

I rang all of my old housemates and let them know, and then ground through my day at work, not really focusing on anything that was happening. Hannah's sister texted me in the afternoon and said that Hannah had opened her eyes a couple of times and knew that she was in hospital, but that she was still very, very ill. That seemed kind've encouraging though.

I went home, cooked the meal that we were going to eat, and then embraced my usual coping strategy with James and got drunk. And then Hannah's sister texted me again and said that Hannah had managed to say hello, but that the consultant had said that he had never in his career seen acid levels so high. And that her potassium levels were not right, and that her kidneys were not working properly.

We are driving down to Nottingham tomorrow, to pick up my gran and bring her back to Sheffield so that she can see the house and hang out for the day. I know that she's been looking forward to it, so I am trying as hard as I can to remain normal and happy for her tomorrow. I am just so desperately worried about my beautiful, wonderful friend. As long as everything remains okay, I am going to try and visit her, maybe Monday night. I just need to shove all of these feelings into a box inside my head, so that my gran has a cracking day tomorrow. Oh God, please let Hannah be okay.

last - next