buffylass
navigation
current
archives
profile
extras
links
rings
cast
contact
email
gbook
notes
credit
host
design
friends
dangerspouse
skinny-bum
annie-cam
shot-of-tea
skinnypics
randomrabbit
kate-lee
the-moo
clairecav
theswordsman
frogeye
skinnylizzie
wombaby
stepfordtart
strawberrri
student-bum
onlyemma
lilkate
blujeans-uk

Talking about hangovers, sofas and Miami
09.08.13, 6:13 pm

It's Friday night and I have returned victorious from work with beer and key lime pie. Really, every day should end like this, but you have to take what you can. James is out at a leaving party, which gives me leave to lie around watching old Xena: Warrior Princess episodes on Horror Channel +1 . God bless Sky and its endless channels of total dirge.

We have a new sofa and it's incredble. You can actually fit three whole people on it. It turned up last Saturday morning, but unfortunately I was not in a position to get excited as I was in the middle of the worst hangover I had had for quite some time. I genuinely don't know what happened: I had this bottle of rum that my boss brought me back from Tobago as a present, and because James wasn't in I decided to crack it open with some Diet Coke. For some reason it didn't seem to be touching me at all, and so I went more generously with my measurements, and then suddenly James had come home and I tried walking and found that I was pretty bloody drunk. James went off to bed, I went to watch telly and sober up, and the next thing I knew I had woke up at 1:30 in the morning in front of the box with the knowledge that a hideous hangover was not far away. I hate that feeling so much � I'd rather just get straight to the vomiting and the World of Pain and the crazy shakes, rather than gradually letting them build and build. Don't worry though, all that and more did eventually turn up in full force.

So yeah, the sofa arrived at 7:15 in the morning, and by that stage I was slumped by the toilet and wanting to die a bit. To add to the fun, I had a hen do to go to that day, and had to be at my friend's house at 2pm. Needless to say, I was still hungover by 2pm, despite valiantly keeping a beef sandwich down. I managed the afternoon session of the hen do okay, but then had to do a cocktail-making masterclass in the evening, and that finished me off. A huge wall of tired hit, and my heart started up palpitating like mental again, and by 9pm I had to call it a night and go home before I had a heart attack. Went home and went straight to bed. Old woman alert!

My beautiful best friend Mel got engaged on Sunday, so we're going down to see her tomorrow and have some celebratory drinkies (rum is not invited). Becky and Nick are also turning up, as they're in the area having been at a God conference all week or something. They'll have the bambino with them, and to quote James: �Mmm, she's the best one out of all of them.� Jesus Christ, that boy is so broody I can't even... argh.

Our abstract got accepted for a conference, so I might be able to go to Miami for a week in November. I'm not sure if I will or not though, as it depends on a) getting some funding and b) getting over my fear of tin-can deathtraps. But if both of these things happen then sound the Miami klaxon! Bugger, and now I have that God-awful Will Smith song in my head.... �Bouncing in the club when the heat is on, all night on the beach 'till the break of dawn�, you know the one!

Beer time!

last - next