buffylass
navigation
current
archives
profile
extras
links
rings
cast
contact
email
gbook
notes
credit
host
design
friends
dangerspouse
skinny-bum
annie-cam
shot-of-tea
skinnypics
randomrabbit
kate-lee
the-moo
clairecav
theswordsman
frogeye
skinnylizzie
wombaby
stepfordtart
strawberrri
student-bum
onlyemma
lilkate
blujeans-uk

Living solo and hungover
28.02.14, 10:10 am

Currently hungover at work, trying to do things and failing. I have never been particularly good at coping with hangovers. My friend came over last night and I made curry, and then we did that thing where you drink for hours and talk through each other�s life stories. Alcohol truly is a wondrous gift from God � the only time I am able to talk about traumatic things, like my mum�s death or Bernie�s death or whatever, is when I�m drunk. I�m sure that says more about my daft ways than alcohol but still, booze rules. Except for when it makes me feel like death.

So James has been away since Saturday skiing with his dad. It�s actually been OK � the sudden freedom to whatever I wanted at the weekend was fun, and I don�t seem to be as twitchy about burglars in the new house. I am ready for him to come home though � I don�t know how people live on their own for long periods of time. I know that sometimes people don�t choose it, and that some love it, and that I�ve lived on my own before, but the solitude definitely gets to you after a while. You want to come home after work and have someone around. He doesn�t appear to be missing home much though � I didn�t even get a text last night, though I guess there�s only so many ways you can rephrase �Drinking whiskey. Slopes were amazing. How was your day?�

Saw Hannah on Tuesday night, who is my friend with diabetes. She seems to be managing it a lot better now, and definitely looks healthier. It must be such a head-fuck to suddenly be diagnosed at 26, when age-wise you should be out of the danger zone, and have your whole life turned upside down. And then on Wednesday night I had the longest hen-do phonecall with Mel known to man. She was talking about how she was fed up with her sisters, as she doesn�t feel like they�re taking any interest in things, and that made me feel guilty because I�m definitely not taking enough of an interest. So we talked about rent-able barns and spa sessions and who-could-feasibly-share-a-bed-with-who for 90 minutes, and then I felt a much better friend.

I�m going for a promotion at work, which I probably won�t get but you never know! I also have to write a scientific paper by the end of March, which is kind�ve stressful. I�ve never written a whole paper by myself; it seems incredibly daunting. If I can do it though, and if it gets published, then I�ll be first author, which is a HUGE deal, especially for a technician. So fingers crossed.

Have to go and see Dad and Amanda soon, and pretend to like their horrible new house they�ve just moved into. Wish I could just see Dad on his own, but that ain�t ever going to happen. Oh well, think Dad�s planning on getting a dog soon, which would automatically increase the home-visit fun by roughly 8000%.

Oh God, I feel so ill, and I have to go play with horrible chemicals. All I want to do is sit here and stare at my pen pot.

last - next