buffylass
navigation
current
archives
profile
extras
links
rings
cast
contact
email
gbook
notes
credit
host
design
friends
dangerspouse
skinny-bum
annie-cam
shot-of-tea
skinnypics
randomrabbit
kate-lee
the-moo
clairecav
theswordsman
frogeye
skinnylizzie
wombaby
stepfordtart
strawberrri
student-bum
onlyemma
lilkate
blujeans-uk

Weekend of dreadful and then of great
25.04.14, 11:51 am

When I originally tried to write this entry, Zoe had literally just had a baby and I was all, �Zoe�s had a baby! Yay!� However, though we�re now three weeks down the line, Zoe still has quite recently had a baby, so �Yay! Zoe's had a baby!

I am so tired at the moment; I keep coming home from work and then falling asleep for 45 minutes because I physically can�t stave it off any longer. And it�s not even like I�m running a marathon every day or anything; it�s just the daily grind and it is wrecking me. Added to that, James has a cold at the moment, so is just flopping around the house looking mournful, and because I�m nice I�m just doing all of the cooking and cleaning, even though when I had that same cold a week ago I did all of the cooking then too. Keep curbing the impulse to shout, �LOOK, BUDDY, I KEEP HAVING TO HAVE AFTERNOON SLEEPS LIKE A NARCOLEPTIC GRANDMA AND NO ONE LOOKS AFTER ME AND MAKES ME FISHCAKES AND CHIPS IN THE EVENING!!1!!�

The weekend with my dad and Amanda was just dire, but I�m not going to go into the details because I�ve already bored on about it to, like, 3 people already, and the world doesn�t need to hear that shit. Take it from me: Amanda is still a total douchehead. In fact, take this snippet of conversation that we had as an example. NB Amanda thinks she knows everything there is to know about local government because she is in charge of bossing a few allotment owners about for Stockport council.

James: So yeah, I have someone in my team who�s suffering from bipolar disorder, and it�s been quite tough for everyone to manage.
Me: I think also, although I don�t really know, that bipolar can be quite a difficult condition to control. I mean, it�s not a particularly black-and-white condition.
Amanda: Oh, I don�t have any time for that, for people like that.
Me [incredulous]: What? You don�t have time for people with bipolar disorder?
Amanda: No, not if it means people don�t do their job properly. You see them all the time in local government and they�re just lazy, they just don�t do enough work. They use it all as an excuse
Me [more incredulous]: You don�t have time for people with mental health problems?
Amanda: No. Especially because they just congregate in local government � they just see it as a soft touch. They all just stagnate there and do no work.
Me: I really don�t think that local government is just full of people with mental health problems.
Amanda: Well I do.
Me: Well I don�t.

At that point, James changed the subject, which was probably for the best. SHE IS JUST THE WORST � HOW CAN DAD EVEN STAND TO BE IN THE SAME ROOM WITH HER? AAARGHHH. Later on, we were talking about cooking for others and Amanda was all, �I�ve never been to a dinner party before� and I was just dying to yell, �BECAUSE NO ONE LIKES YOU!� Anyway, to get through the pain I went through a drunk � hungover cycle throughout the weekend, which just turned into a blurry swirl of awful. They eventually sodded off at 9am on Sunday morning, and after that I was untouchably happy. I have never, ever been so cheery on a Monday morning.

Mel�s hen do is looming on the horizon, and it�s going to cost me approx. �250. Oh God, I love her more than bigots love the Daily Mail but that is a lot of money. I think my hen do, if it ever even exists, will just consist of a trip to Nando�s. I�m down in Birmingham soon for more boring work stuff, and have already requested that me and Mel go get some Nando�s afterwards. You can�t beat those chickeny prices.

Went to see grandma on Sunday for some Easter cheer. She�s just bought herself a brand new Mac and got some fibre-optic broadband to go with it. After she showed it all off I made her take her first selfie on my phone, which she thought was the best thing ever. She�s so great � I genuinely cannot express in words how totally amazing she is.

Probably better get back to work now. The office is just full of people�s Easter eggs, and then I go home and am faced with grandma�s Lindt bunnies. Probably best to just embrace the whale.

last - next