buffylass
navigation
current
archives
profile
extras
links
rings
cast
contact
email
gbook
notes
credit
host
design
friends
dangerspouse
skinny-bum
annie-cam
shot-of-tea
skinnypics
randomrabbit
kate-lee
the-moo
clairecav
theswordsman
frogeye
skinnylizzie
wombaby
stepfordtart
strawberrri
student-bum
onlyemma
lilkate
blujeans-uk

The engagement entry
27.07.14, 5:04 pm

Me and James are engaged - I think everyone now knows, but I'll say it again anyway. We're engaged and I've never been happier. I guess I should describe how it happened first, even though I kind've hate how proposals suddenly have to be these extravagant, complicated things. Anyway, here's how it went down.

I had an inkling that something might happen just before we left for Spain, because James was acting a bit suspiciously, but then nothing happened for a few days and I wondered if I'd got it wrong. Except I was never allowed to carry the rucksack when we we're out and about, but maybe that was just chivalry. And then on Wednesday night, after we'd had a couple of drinks in the amazing free hotel bar, James sat me down and told me he had something important to ask me (Me: 'You don't want more sexy time, do you?') and that was that. I said yes instantly, and then he pulled out a beautiful ring that was a little too big, but we didn't care. Afterwards, we walked down to the beach as it was a beautiful evening, and sat on the sand and watched the sun set, and shared many a mushy sentiment. It was just the best.

So this is it - the wedding is on. We've told everyone who needs to know, and everyone seems pleased, so that's a relief. I'm currently in Dumfries seeing some of the Commonwealth Games, and we've already had enough celebratory booze to sink an elephant. The downside though, amongst all of the happy, is quickly realising how bloody expensive everything is. I mean, you vaguely know that everything is basically horrendously dear, but it isn't until you sit down and crunch some numbers that you realise how much. It also doesn't help that James's family is enormous, and for some reason you have to invite all 900 second cousins or whatever.

We haven't decided on much yet, only that we want it in Sheffield, we don't want a church wedding, and we're going to have seven million guests. I'm going to have Mel and my sister as bridesmaids, and have asked my wonderful friend Julia, who had her PhD viva on Wednesday and passed with flying colours, if she'll do a reading. James is yet undecided on any of his people because he's silly. Currently undecided on whether to get any kilt action or not.
And that's it, really. We have to book a venue soon, and then we'll hopefully have a date. Whenever I'm bored at work I start researching poems that aren't too purple or mention God. James is insisting we make a Gantt chart soon about things that need to be organised.

I feel good about the engagement already - it's not a shock or anything like that; it just feels natural and right. James is everything that I want. Sometimes I think I'm going to be due a whole load of awful stuff, to counter the wonderfulness that meeting him has brought. I think he's just the best.

last - next