buffylass
navigation
current
archives
profile
extras
links
rings
cast
contact
email
gbook
notes
credit
host
design
friends
dangerspouse
skinny-bum
annie-cam
shot-of-tea
skinnypics
randomrabbit
kate-lee
the-moo
clairecav
theswordsman
frogeye
skinnylizzie
wombaby
stepfordtart
strawberrri
student-bum
onlyemma
lilkate
blujeans-uk

Venue chat and all that
28.08.14, 4:09 pm

I have been sat at my desk for 7 hours now, and have been doing the same task nonstop save for the 15 minutes I took to eat my Boots Meal Deal. Genuinely feel like stapling things to my fingers just to break up the tedium� and then I thought, �Write a damn entry, lazy bum.� So here we go.

There�s been some venue-viewing going on, which turns out to be a lot like house viewing, in that you kind�ve know after 5 seconds if you like it or hate it, but have to make approving honking noises about the place regardless until you�re allowed to escape. We�ve been to a traditional country mansion type place, and a traditional city centre venue place, and a modern city centre venue place, and have decided to go for the modern city centre one. The country mansion one was the most expensive by a lot. Who�d have thought it! But no, the venue we�ve gone for feels like the right one, and won�t blow the budget, and isn�t miles away from anywhere. We�re also 95% sure that the date is going to be the 26th September 2015, so that�s exciting. Kind�ve far away, but still exciting.

The next task, I think, is to start deciding on what kind of vows and stuff that we want. We�re not having a church ceremony, so we have to say the fixed vows pre-rings, and then say some homemade vows post-rings. And oh God, I�ve just looked up some examples online and I have the horriblest feeling that I�m going to end up blubbing � I can just FEEL it. That�s in my top 5 worst nightmares: blubbing in public. It�s something I haven�t done since I was, like, 13, but I can tell it�s going to happen here, I can just tell. It�s James � I don�t know why but he gets into my head and under my defences and makes me do things that I don�t normally do. I guess it�s called love.

Went down to see Mel last weekend and had my first bridesmaid dress fitting, which went fine, and also watched her sister having a trial hairstyle, which did not go fine. It was also really boring, if I�m honest. I also learned that we�re booked into the hairdresser at 8 o�clock on the big day itself, which seems remarkably keen. Surely hairstyles cannot stay up from 8am to midnight, surely? Anyway, highlight of the day was seeing Mel in her dress. She looks SMOKIN�.

Amanda�s daughter has suddenly gotten engaged and is getting married next July, which has caused a humongous upset because Ella is only 21, and also because everyone hates her fianc�. I learned the other day that he will only use a plastic knife and fork because he considers metal ones to be dirty, and now whenever I feel sad I just picture him eating a steak with picnic cutlery and feel a lot better.

Hey, I forgot to mention that I had a pregnancy scare. That was exciting! For some reason my period just never arrived, sparking lots of agonized worrying and trying to work out what was better: a wedding whilst pregnant, where I look huge and can�t booze it up; or a wedding with a 3-month old in tow. Eventually I made myself take a pregnancy test and then felt like going out on a school-night bender when it was negative. And that was my pregnancy scare story.

OK, better get back to work again, though all I really want to do is sneak off early and the leftover chorizo that I know is still in the fridge.

last - next