buffylass
navigation
current
archives
profile
extras
links
rings
cast
contact
email
gbook
notes
credit
host
design
friends
dangerspouse
skinny-bum
annie-cam
shot-of-tea
skinnypics
randomrabbit
kate-lee
the-moo
clairecav
theswordsman
frogeye
skinnylizzie
wombaby
stepfordtart
strawberrri
student-bum
onlyemma
lilkate
blujeans-uk

Rib tickler
13.01.17, 1:38 pm

25 weeks pregnant now and just back from being poked and prodded by the midwife. Blood pressure and urine fin, and Pommy’s heart rate a) existed as a thing and b) was the right speed, so gold stars all around. I moaned on a bit about the continuing sadness of my stupid heart and stomach issues, but it was a half-hearted effort as it’s a 100% suck-it-up issue. Next growth scan is coming up in 3 weeks’ time, which is definitely something to look forward to. Apparently the scans get less exciting the further along you are, because you can fit less and less of the baby onto the screen, but it’ll still be lovely to check in on the wee one.

I think she’s doing OK, though it’s hard to tell really. Her kicks are getting good and strong, though she’s stopped giving me the weird going-over-a-bump-in-the-road when she did somersaults, so I’m guessing there’s less room in there now. Today she’s discovered that if she really stretches she can boot me right in the ribs, so well done for that, Pommy. I think I’m yet to get my head around the fact that she’ll be here in 15 weeks’ time – I’m so wrapped up in me and how I’m feeling that I’m definitely neglecting the big picture. Maybe everyone’s a bit like that though.

Gestational diabetes test on Monday, where I have to fast, have a blood test, drink some Lucozade, wait 2 BLOODY HOURS and then have another blood test. And then finally get to eat a banana or whatever, hopefully. Going to pony onto the hospital’s wifi and watch Netflix, and try not to think about toast too much.

Christmas was fine, though my heart wasn’t great. We were also up in Scotland for 12 days, which seemed like a good idea beforehand but was definitely too long in hindsight. I started getting very twitchy by the end, longing to just be at home on my own with James with my own bed and my sofa and my PS4. Got some lovely presents though, and James seemed to enjoy his birthday. We’re going away for the weekend in a couple of weeks’ time (his birthday present from me) – a sort of Last Mini Holiday Before Pommy Arrives type deal. Doesn’t even matter if it pours it down the whole time, to be honest… it’ll be nice just to hang out together and read.

Currently spending this week fruitlessly worrying about my career, as I’m almost certainly out of a job when my contract ends in December of this year. There is genuinely NOTHING I can do right now, as it’s too early to be looking for other jobs and there is one huge, literally pressing thing to deal with first, but my brain doesn’t care. I think it’s because I’m tired, hormonal and anxious, and so my mind just latches onto it as an outlet for some pointless fretting. Anyway sod it, I’m going to spend the weekend baking biscuits. That only brings happiness and joy to all it touches.

And we’ve finally shortlisted 3 potential names! It took bloody FOREVER but I think we’re there at last. Just got to now buy all the equipment, create a nursery, learn about child-rearing and give birth. Oh Jesus Christ.

last - next