buffylass
navigation
current
archives
profile
extras
links
rings
cast
contact
email
gbook
notes
credit
host
design
friends
dangerspouse
skinny-bum
annie-cam
shot-of-tea
skinnypics
randomrabbit
kate-lee
the-moo
clairecav
theswordsman
frogeye
skinnylizzie
wombaby
stepfordtart
strawberrri
student-bum
onlyemma
lilkate
blujeans-uk

Burglar alarms are not toys
28th July 2005, 10:51 am

Torrential rain does not mix well with Sheffield, as the hills cause mini rivers to spring up everywhere, and hence everyone gets to laugh at me as I try to jump over them, umbrella in tow. Predictable conversation of "Isn't the weather awful today?" as I stood in the lift lobby. Really?? I hadn't noticed! I'm only standing here with my jeans soaking, the sleeves of my hoodie soaking, my trainers so wet they're a different colour and my attractive rain-hair.

After the misery of Tuesday, I was actually in a very good mood for all of Wednesday - I think my mind was trying to balance itself out. I went to the doctors (YES I KNOW I'M ALWAYS AT THE DOCTORS, WHAT'S YOUR POINT?) and am now finally off hellspawn Atenolol, and back to my friend, Propranolol. Dr Personality didn't take my blood pressure for once, for which I'm insanely grateful. I hate having my blood pressure taken anyway, but Dr Personality has great problems in getting a clear reading, and usually has to do it at least twice on each arm. Once she did it six times, by which point I was on the verge of either climbing the walls or socking her one.

Me and Em figured out how to use the burglar alarm last night, after I had to firstly phone Thornsett and get them to disclose the alarm code to us over the phone. After testing it out and realising it worked, we then decided to find out which sensors set the alarm off on "partial set" mode. I bet the neighbours absolutely loathe us now, and when the alarm goes off for real will probably just sit around drinking tea and saying, "Don't worry, it's just those tossers from next door pissing around again."

Em's off home on Friday, leaving me to fend for myself. I can see myself getting excessively lonely, and will probably start talking to the plants again in desperation.

Running PCRs today, just for a change. Mini Boss is away till Monday, so I am unsupervised. This can only be a bad thing. Our housing deposits came yesterday, which is excellent as I am seriously deep in my overdraft. However, I then decided to celebrate by buying Alanis Morrisette - Jagged Little Pill Acoustic on CD. Why do I have no self control? I don't have money to spend on things I don't need damnit, I have to spend it on the electricity bill and some food, so that I have more than two packets of bacon in my fridge.

My sister sent me this picture of my orange cat a minute ago:

Don't be decieved by the cuteness. This is the cat that left headless mice on the kitchen floor, and who would bring frogs inside and then let them loose to chase, so that they inevitably wound up seeking refuge in one of my trainers.

Expect another update this afternoon when boredom surfaces again. For now though, I'm off to the canteen to buy some lunch - highlight of the day.

3:15 pm
Netherlands Chick and I have just had a ten minute discussion about how Dumbledore's reason for trusting Snape implicitly was not really convincing enough for the reader, thus proving that the magic of Harry Potter stretches as far as improving international relations. I'm currently eavesdropping (what a bizarre word, where did it come from?) on her conversation on the phone to some computer people about her laptop not working, and it's dawning on me that she speaks better English than I do, or at least makes a lot more effort in her articulation. That's a little disconcerting.

last - next