buffylass
navigation
current
archives
profile
extras
links
rings
cast
contact
email
gbook
notes
credit
host
design
friends
dangerspouse
skinny-bum
annie-cam
shot-of-tea
skinnypics
randomrabbit
kate-lee
the-moo
clairecav
theswordsman
frogeye
skinnylizzie
wombaby
stepfordtart
strawberrri
student-bum
onlyemma
lilkate
blujeans-uk

Anxiety can sod off
25th July 2005, 1:36 pm

I've decided to make the previous entry a private one, as it cuts a little too close to the bone. Basic summary: I had a minor anixety-freakout and it pissed me off somewhat. Onward...

Now that I have all that concentrated misery out of my system, I shall write a more uplifting entry. I'm actually in the mood for it too, as PhD Millhouse has been talking to me for the past hour, and has consequently cheered me up. So, bar the minor-life-crisis relapse last night, I shall talk about my weekend.

First thing's first, something momentous has happened. Yes that's right, I have given up on my beloved Nokia 3310. My sister drove down to Sheffield yesterday (primarily to see her friend, Becky) and popped in to see my new house. She also dropped off my black shoes, that I'll be wearing for the funeral tomorrow, and her old phone, that she's donated to me. I have no idea which phone I have now, only that it's a Nokia but not a 3310. I told Em last night and she was gutted - we've been carrying the torch for 3310s in our house since first year.

I had quite a relaxing (read: dull) weekend, as Em went home and I was left solo. I watched some cricket, thereby embracing my inner geek, and generally fannied around doing not much. Ooh, I tidied my room! With lemon polish! I even polished my mirror, though I'm afraid to state that the plate from three weeks ago is still hiding under my bed. I think it's getting close to the point where it'll just need to be thrown away, because washing it will require greater force than my elbow can muster. God, I ming.

Work is as dull as ever, though with my sleep deprivation it's more hard work than usual. I ran a PCR this morning and am ignoring the fact that it has finished, as I really can't be arsed to run a gel this afternoon. Someone will stick my samples in the fridge, I'm sure.

Becky rang over the weekend, to see if the Internet was up and running (still nothing, Pipex are still wankers.), and we ended up talking for forever. It made me think about how we've become really close over the space of about two months. Before that, she was the one that I hardly ever talked to, but as soon as we actually started talking we kindve clicked, and now it feels like we've been friends forever. It makes me slightly annoyed that we didn't discover this earlier.

Anyway, tonight I shall be performing the fun task of ironing my funeral outfit. I also need to ring the florists when I get back from work and send some flowers to the funeral directors. I've decided on the message, "May angels lead you in, love always, Holly" which includes a lyric from Jimmy Eat World that I absolutely adore. All I need to do now is check my train times and I'll be all set for a day of misery. If I have another anxiety-based freak out I shall be seriously pissed off. I hope you're listening, Atenolol.

[So, so glad that I'm not feeling as anxious and depressed as I was this morning, because that really did take the piss.]

Suppose I'd better go write some more of my lab notebook, so I've at least done something worthwhile this afternoon. Must resist the temptation to sleep.

last - next