buffylass
navigation
current
archives
profile
extras
links
rings
cast
contact
email
gbook
notes
credit
host
design
friends
dangerspouse
skinny-bum
annie-cam
shot-of-tea
skinnypics
randomrabbit
kate-lee
the-moo
clairecav
theswordsman
frogeye
skinnylizzie
wombaby
stepfordtart
strawberrri
student-bum
onlyemma
lilkate
blujeans-uk

last few days on g floor
13th June 2004, 11:25 pm

my last week at sorby was interesting, i'll put it that way. i arrived back on the tuesday from my gran's, and spent most of the day lazing around with richard, as a lot of people hadn't arrived back from home then. pretty uneventful all round, tuesday.

wednesday i went to the cinema with dave. we saw The Day After Tomorrow first, which was better than i expected but was still way too americanised, which is usually the case with those type of armageddon films. afterwards we walked about a mile to the nearest kfc, which is next to the sheffield arena, and was greeted by the site of hundreds upon hundreds of gereatrics, most of them female. they were everywhere: swarming around the sheffield arena, marching down the streets. when we got to the kfc it was, of course, also full of grannies. must have been some kind of donney osmond concert or something.

kfc was fantastic, as it always is.

after that we got back to the UGC and saw harry potter... mmm it was just as good second time round, better maybe because i got to concentrate on the smaller details now i knew how the plot worked itself out.

we got back around half sixish, me with a banging head that was linked to my stupid ear infection thing. the headache lasted all of the next day too, so thursday was a complete write-off. thursday morning i was in real pain, and had hazy dreams of people knocking on my door (which really happened) followed by mel coming in and sitting on the bed next to me and stroking my hair (didn't happen). i do remember richard coming in around lunchtime and whispering, "i'm going now, hol.". i think i mumbled okay to him, still half asleep, so he stroked my arm with one finger, said bye and then left.

friday, mmm friday was a crazy-ass day. i spent the morning watching angel with dave, and in the afternoon a load of us were planning on going bowling. except we didn't, because hannah decided to have a bitch at emily about how it was "very mean" of us to be out when guy left. yeah, mean if you weren't there maybe, but not us. this is guy who has been ignoring us for the last two weeks, and probably wouldn't have given a flying fuck if we had been there or not. so in the end we stayed in, getting stressed out. matt then decided to appear on the corridor, in his usual irritating good samaritan mood, which drove mel to despair in the process, as he's still bitching about her etc.

at 4 i went to see lisa for a bit, who's room was much messier looking than mine, then came back in time to see michelle off. after that i rang my dad, just before tea, to let him know about what time to come get me the next day. talking to him brought home the fact that i would be at home for 3 months on my own, trapped in the depressing house with my depressed father. it also made me worry all over again about how we're all gonna live off my dad's �54 a week benefit.

i went back to my room and stood looking out the window. dave came in and asked if i was going to tea, and i told him i didn't want to. he asked what was wrong, and i told him that i didn't want to talk about it, mainly because i didn't want to cry right then and there. he seemed to understand, and told everyone else that i wasn't hungry, though i could tell by mel's reply that she could tell something was wrong. once they'd left the corridor i sat on the edge of my bed and cried quietly for a few minutes, before pulling myself together and watching neighbours.

the last night was spent getting drunk, which is no surprise. at one point i felt shitty again, and had to go away to my room for another cry, but once i got it out of my system i was fine again. we rounded off the evening with watching the last episode of angel (series 5) in my room. we would have spent the last night only in my room though, as my room was the room we always gathered. bedtime wasn't till 4 in the morning, by which point the sun was just starting to rise.

the last morning was knackering. i was up at quarter to eight packing my clothes, and had to miss breakfast. it was so bloody hot in my room, even with richard's fan going, and i got a little stressed.

dave was the first to leave, and before he did we were roped into helping him carry all his stuff down to his stepdad's car. note: living on g floor suddenly becomes unfun when you have 6 flights of stairs to lug things down. dave's goodbye was pretty emotional... me and him had become really close since easter, and he gave me a huge tight hug without saying anything. he looked like he wanted to cry in the car, and we waved him off for about five minutes.

everyone's parents then arrived at once, including my dad. the carrying of my stuff then began, which weighs a ton for the record. i kept passing em and hannah on the stairs, who were carrying their stuff down, along with about 90,000 other people. think i dropped a few things at one point, which was highly irritating.

em left whilst i was still carrying, so i gave her a big hug and told her to drive safe. finally me and my dad had emptied my room, and i "ran" up the stairs to say bye. gave mel and hannah big hugs, and everything felt pretty emotional but we all stayed calm. hannah then carried on carrying her things down - her dad, by this point, had got bored of carrying things, and had told her to carry them as far as the carpark, and then he'd carry them to the van. what a skanky deal! it's six flights of stairs, man. anyway, i gave mel another quick hug, because her and dave are the people i'm gonna miss the most, then went down and dropped my keys off. there's something kind've symbolic about giving in your keys and swipecard, like you're letting go of being a first year. i waved to mel up at her window from the carpark, then left sorby for good.

i will not be missing sorby as a place, because that trampy old tower block was a gross, crappy health hazard, and most of the people who lived there were dicks. i will miss my corridor, however, because the friends i have made on it are fantastic. i'm so lucky to have gotten on that corridor, life's weird like that. if i'd have been put on another floor everything could have been totally different, but instead i'm now friends with some of the most amazing people, and they're either living with me or near me next year.

i think uni worked out pretty well, all in all.

last - next