buffylass
navigation
current
archives
profile
extras
links
rings
cast
contact
email
gbook
notes
credit
host
design
friends
dangerspouse
skinny-bum
annie-cam
shot-of-tea
skinnypics
randomrabbit
kate-lee
the-moo
clairecav
theswordsman
frogeye
skinnylizzie
wombaby
stepfordtart
strawberrri
student-bum
onlyemma
lilkate
blujeans-uk

melodramatic ambulance
28th October 2004, 7:51 pm

righty, well i now have the net in my room, which means that i'll be able to update a lot more frequently than of late. it took me and dave a good two hours to get my stupid machine to find the network, and we had to consequently move my desk from one side of the room to the other. furniture moving in a small room is not fun, especially when i make out than i'm fine lifting the ten ton desk over my bed, when in actual fact i'm about to drop it on dave's hand.

but yes, i do love having the net in my room. i can now access geoff cope from dissection saying "helo. this is an introduction to the upper limb..." on web ct any time of day i wish. he talks to me and everything, it's fantastic.

had a right flumoux a couple of days ago. i'm currently suffering from a heavy cold, and, unrelatedly, went to the doctors on monday to finally enquire about my odd extra heartbeat, as it's been bugging me for a while now. the doctor said that it was an extrasystole (an extra beat, basically my heart goes bum, bum, ba-dum, pause, bum) and nothing to worry about. he sent me off to get an ecg at the hallamshire hospital, which i did. i got to go into a tiny room with a bed and lie down whilst a woman stuck twelve sticky pads on my chest. she said that everything looked fine, and that i'd get the results in about a week.

so i toddled off home. at tht doctors they'd asked "do you get any chest pains or anything?" and i was all "no, nothing like that". monday afternoon i had pains in my chest for hours, and then they finally died off after tea, after i'd stressed myself out somewhat. i then woke up at 5 on tuesday morning with the same pain, and it then appeared again at 9. i was starting to get worried now, so i phoned nhs direct (mel's suggestion) and asked them about it. they said that it didn't sound like anything serious, but to make an appointment with my gp and get it checked, which i did. about twelvish the pain still hadn't gone, and i started going all hot and cold, and i had clammy hands. i then started feeling faint, and shouted for vicky, who was upstairs. according to her i looked "grey". we weren't sure what to do, and i finally asked her to phone an ambulance, because i was getting in such a state. that arrived with a paramedic guy, who took my blood pressure and sats - my bp was 160/99, dear god. they carted me off to northern general, where i had another ECG done, and more blood pressure stuff, and a doctor looked me over. after all that he said it was probably a chest infection - inflammation of the chest wall, and possibly a touch of pleurisy. basically i'd just stressed myself out to the max.

me and vicky got home about fourish, after asking michelle to come pick us up, because northern general is in the middle of NOWHERE. vicky was really great, what with calling the ambulance and everything, and she said she didn't mind traipsing around after me all afternoon, she was just glad that we knew what was wrong with me.

so that's been the funnest thing that's happened this week. dissection today went really well - we did the chest cavity and lungs... the lungs are a bit tiddy actually, and a slightly strange colour. i got 7/11 on the practise spotter test, which is pretty good from my zero revision. i'm gonna have to wash my hair tonight though, because it still smells slightly of formaldehyde, you know, everyone's favourite scent. went for a drink with paddy afterwards in interval... he'd been really worried about my stupid heart things as all i'd told him were bits in random text messages, so i finally managed to tell him the whole story. feel really bad that he was unnecessarily worrying.

it was takeaway night tonight, as nobody could be arsed to cook. becky went fish and chips, mel and emeily went chinese and michelle, hannah and me went curry. had a chicken makauri (sp?) and lamb rogan josh, it was fantastic. house consequently stinks of curry.

oh, garden update. along with the red chair and the bath, we also have a roadsign, parasol base, stack of white metal shelves and a big SECURITY sign dumped on our lawn. what could possibly be next?

shall have to go wash my hair now, as well as work, possibly. i'm going to have to take some work home with me too, it's highly depressing.
we had a takeaway night tonight, as

last - next