buffylass
navigation
current
archives
profile
extras
links
rings
cast
contact
email
gbook
notes
credit
host
design
friends
dangerspouse
skinny-bum
annie-cam
shot-of-tea
skinnypics
randomrabbit
kate-lee
the-moo
clairecav
theswordsman
frogeye
skinnylizzie
wombaby
stepfordtart
strawberrri
student-bum
onlyemma
lilkate
blujeans-uk

mmm diving tanks
22nd April 2005, 10:54 pm

Just finished watching another three hours of 24 with Michelle. I honestly didn't think it would be as addictive as this, despite all the warnings that Paddy gave me. Michelle also bought me and Vicky Kinder eggs to eat beforehand. I'm twenty years old and I still eat Kinder eggs... it's a sad state of affairs. I said as much to Vicky too, who just shrugged like a big kid. We then realised that we couldn't even assemble our cheap plastic toy, which means we're even more mentally challenged than children. Chocolate was nice though.

Made more notes on plants this morning, after deciding that I wasn't going to bother with my 12, again. By half two I was so bored of summerizing the process of intital soil formation that I told Michelle I'd accompany her to fill the diving tanks up with air (she's equipments officer for the sub aqua club) at SDS in Halfway.

On getting into Michelle's car I noticed son of Carrack (guy who owns the paint shop in front of our house, and I mean literally in front of our house) loading some paint into his landrover, which was parked in front of us. He saw me, smiled and gave me a wave.

"He blatantly fancies me," I said.

"He can blatantly hear us, too," replied Michelle.

My god, diving tanks weigh a lot. Michelle can pick one up in each hand, and whilst I could probably manage this too, I couldn't then move in any direction, let alone lift them into the boot of the car. Some lovely student jogger bloke offered to give me a hand - I must just scream INADEQUATE - but I politely declined, because I still have my pride. When the bloody things were finally loaded into the car we set off, the suspension now perilously compromised.

We could only reach 40mph whilst driving up a steepish (almost flat) hill on the motorway. Michelle spent most of the drive muttering "bloody tanks" under her breath and cursing all the drivers that we gave way to that didn't say thankyou ("No it's fine, I'll just sit here whilst you piss around getting through"). When we got to the SDS place some guy filled up the tanks for us whilst we wandered around the shop, looking at all the diving knives you could buy, and I found myself wondering what I'd look like wearing one of the dry suits. Eventually we set off back home again, full tanks now loaded up and causing the car to sag even more.

Carrying the full tanks back into the boatshed was a very strenuous task, and I've probably torn a load of muscles doing it. Michelle also broke the door on the way out, which we decided to ignore. When we finally staggered back through the door chez Sheffield we were absolutely exhausted, even though we'd only been on the task about an hour and a half. There was also no one around downstairs to congratulate us on completing the second most boring task in existance (after making notes on initial soil formation).

Made curry for tea tonight with rice and naan bread, was very pleasant. I'm about to go downstairs and be introduced to James, who is the guy that Becky's been meeting up with for dates for the past month or so. I don't think they're actually together yet, probably because Becky's only allowed to get with proper Christian boys (if she doesn't, her mum lectures her until she stops seeing them, which is completely not on in my view but something to discuss another day) and I don't think she's sure if he's a Christian or not yet.

P.S. Had a bowl of cereal for my breakfast today, so a definate improvement there, though it was probably cancelled out by the stale chocolate doughnut I ate around Neighbours time. And whilst we're on the topic of Neighbours... now Lynne and Summer are both incredibly irritating in their individual scenes, and I wish they'd both just wear paper bags on their heads all day long, but when they have scenes together, like today, it's really too much for me to take. If it happens again I may end up slamming my head into the nearest wall just to stop the intense irritation.

last - next