buffylass
navigation
current
archives
profile
extras
links
rings
cast
contact
email
gbook
notes
credit
host
design
friends
dangerspouse
skinny-bum
annie-cam
shot-of-tea
skinnypics
randomrabbit
kate-lee
the-moo
clairecav
theswordsman
frogeye
skinnylizzie
wombaby
stepfordtart
strawberrri
student-bum
onlyemma
lilkate
blujeans-uk

neurotics anonymous session 2
25 April 2005, 8:35 pm

Diaryland just swallowed up my entry... that really does take the piss. Here we go again then:

The sun has indeed been shining in Sheffield today, so much so that I may have started off this year's tan. Long may it reign over my skin, though it'll probably be nothing to write home about, judging from past experience.

Today's been a day of moodswings and tiredness. the tiredness is due to the fact that I had three hours sleep last night. My sleeping routine = shit, I don't even know why I couldn't sleep. At about half three I texted Michelle asking her if she was part of the Insomniacs Club that night, as I could hear her coughing through my wall. She replied with:

"Yay always wanted to be part of insomnia club. Yes big coughing problems tonight. Really pissing me off because want to go to sleep. Gonna be in a pissing bad mood tomorrow. Anyone else in the club of non sleepers tonight? this is taking the piss. Pissing cough. Far too many pisses in two texts, sorr. M x"

Dragged myself up at nine to go to dissection at ten with Peppy Kath (my demonstrator). Kath is actually extremely lovely, and very generous to give me a tutorial on the stuff that I'd missed last week. We covered the brainstem and arterial supply of the brain, and she let me play with her model of the Loop of Willis that she'd made out of pipe cleaners. It's funny, when I was little I never saw pipe cleaners as things to clean pipes out with, I only saw them as things to make bigger crappy things out of.

Dissection went well - we're going to try me on some wet specimens and cadavres next Tuesday, when I learn about the cranial nerves. If I'm honest I'm more than a little apprehensive about it, but I'm going to give it my best shot and hope that I'm better at this anxiety thing now.

Speaking of anxiety, had sodding Stress Management this afternoon. After completing two classes I can confirm that I won't be going to the remaining two classes, for reasons I've already written about (ie. everyone seems to be there either because they have god-awful time management or get too stressed by exams... this obviously is not my problem, as mine's sudden panicky moments that fade very quickly). I think my problem is something that I'm going to have to sort out on my own, though counselling seems to be helping.

Anyway, at the end of the session Stress Woman had us all lying on the floor on foam mats like we were on some surreal camping trip. We were actually practising Complete Relaxation though, which involved concentrating on your breathing for forever (I swear this makes you less relaxed about your breathing than more, but whatever) before tensing and relaxing certain groups of muscles to de-stress your whole body. It was so hard to keep awake - bear in mind that my three hours means I'm running on caffeine and willpower alone today - and Kul bloody yawning every three minutes next to me didn't help either. Came out at the end completely knackered and had to get the bus home, so that's another 95p that sodding course has cost me.

I should go work now, the evil plants textbook is glaring at me from it's home on my desk. Paddy's going to renew it for me tonight for another week, so that I can suck even more joy from it. Maybe I'll turn into a plant one of these days.

last - next