buffylass
navigation
current
archives
profile
extras
links
rings
cast
contact
email
gbook
notes
credit
host
design
friends
dangerspouse
skinny-bum
annie-cam
shot-of-tea
skinnypics
randomrabbit
kate-lee
the-moo
clairecav
theswordsman
frogeye
skinnylizzie
wombaby
stepfordtart
strawberrri
student-bum
onlyemma
lilkate
blujeans-uk

Phlegm sharing
21st July 2005, 10:04 am

There should be a rule that states that if you get less than 5 hours sleep the night before you can miss work the next day. Not that I need anymore time off work though, as I had yesterday off due to illness. Cue lots of lolling around on my bed coughing up phlegm (everyone gets to share in my phlegm magic), although I did do all mine and Em's washing up. Mmm, just coughed up some more phlegm right then.

I'm doing gene sequencing this morning with Mini Boss, which basically involves me finding out the exact pattern of As, Ts, Cs and Gs that constitutes my gene. Gripping stuff, I assure you. Actually, it is pretty interesting, I'm just still suffering from Depression Central - as are most of the people I read about on here at the moment, it seems. Saying that though, Lisa was up yesterday and managed to deflect the depression quite successfully, so at least it hasn't been continuous.

Sorry, I'm starting to ramble a little. It's due to the lack of sleep, me thinks, which was probably a result of too much caffeine intake yesterday.

My sister rang me a couple of days ago, and told me that my dad's apparently growing a load of cannabis plants in the loft. I'd love to say that I'm surprised, but I'm really not. He's doing his "motorbike trek around the UK" next week, and is probably going to harvest it all for then, although if he's driving he definately shouldn't be smoking it excessively. My dad does trouble me slightly, in that he seems to have turned into a complete stoner. Be just our luck for the police to do a surprise raid on our house, too.

Mark's funeral is next Tuesday, so I'll have to take that off work. I had a dream about the funeral last night, and I remember asking Lindz if it was okay for me to miss the crematorium part, only I needed to go to the nearest pub for a drink. That'll probably come true.

Only two weeks left of Em living with me, before she buggers off on another placement - she's either at Doncaster or Grimsby, I can't quite rememeber which one comes first. She's also buggering off this weekend, which means that I'm going to have to make my own fun for two days.

Sidenote: I absolutely loathe the lifts at work. The speed lift goes so fast it makes me feel ill, but that's fine compared to the other three lifts of DEATH. You get in them, all trusting, and all they do is shake, rattle, bounce up and down between floors and make weird vibrating noises, and half the time the doors get stuck half open. Oh, and they lie. They tell you that they'll go up or down, either way they're easy, but as soon as you punch floor N, they descend down to floor A, which is the basement and smells of damp rat, and 9 times out of 10 there's no one there anyway. Bastard things.

2:56 pm
This afternoon has been vaguely entertaining, in that I took an international student from Atlanta round the medical school and biomedical departments, as he's thinking about doing a degree here in October. Consequently I have feel-good-duty-to-mankind feelings bouncing around inside, which makes a change from the blueness.

I'm also smug because Australia have been bowled out for 190 runs. Yes, I'm a cricket geek - no one ever understands except fellow cricket geeks. I'm chained to my desk this afternoon doing my lab notebook, as I have piss all to do in the labs. According to the thermometer on the wall it's 28 degrees C. Bleugh.

last - next