buffylass
navigation
current
archives
profile
extras
links
rings
cast
contact
email
gbook
notes
credit
host
design
friends
dangerspouse
skinny-bum
annie-cam
shot-of-tea
skinnypics
randomrabbit
kate-lee
the-moo
clairecav
theswordsman
frogeye
skinnylizzie
wombaby
stepfordtart
strawberrri
student-bum
onlyemma
lilkate
blujeans-uk

Blood test, lots of work and big tiredness
28.04.06, 2:34 pm

Now, if taking a picture and uploading it onto this computer didn�t involve having to restart the machine, as my computer is temperamental and HATES things being connected to the USB ports whilst it�s still on and freezes every time without fail, I would take a big narcissistic one of myself right now and show you just how gross and haggard I look. I rival the undead; I look pale and exhausted and generally not attractive. And worry not, because I will spend the majority of this entry whining about why that�s the case. Strap yourselves in, y�all.

Firstly, I hereby take back everything bad that I�ve ever said about my library project supervisor, aka Crazy American Psycho (her actual name is Professor Surprenant, and so other versions of her name that we also use include Superwoman and Super Nintendo). Yes, she is indeed schizophrenic and probably turns into a werewolf every full moon, but she gave me the most amazing feedback ever on my Long QT essay � literally picked it apart and wrote lots of helpful comments � and said that I could aim for a first if I took everything she said onboard. I like firsts; firsts are good. And I get so very few of them that count (i.e. one) that this completely motivated me to get one, in quite a scary I LOVE WORK! kind've way.

So late Wednesday afternoon, when I got the email, I immediately went down to the Uni library and spent about three hours there, hurriedly teaching myself how to use Photoshop (badly) so that I could make some lovely diagrams about stuff that I know no one cares about, so I won�t go into specifics. And then yesterday was spent actually hand drawing more diagrams, and then last night I went to the library about quarter to eight, to do my abstract, references, appendix and then finally some rewrites on the actual essay, and didn�t finish until midnight. That actually took the piss, and what also takes the piss is that I have to print out two copies of the thing, and each copy is 14 pages long, so that was a quick �140. I think the essay�s quite shiny though. References took bleeding ages to do though, like an hour and a half, not least because you have to write out the name and initial of every single sodding person that contributed to each article, and so the people whose surnames I'm bound to have spelt wrong can go fuck themselves, to be quite honest.

So the work side of thing has kind�ve knacked me a bit, but it�s not the main reason I look not so great. The huge lethargy thing that I�ve had for the past week or so, along with the weird weak, tingly legs thing, has not gone away, and has in fact gotten worse. I now get random pains and muscle spasms in my legs, and the tingling has spread to my arms and hands, and my hands feel like they�re a little numb in parts. It�s interesting, and makes walking anywhere a bit of a task. I purposely didn�t tell the kids about it, because I know they�d only fret, but ended up mentioning it to Becky yesterday, who then mentioned it to Mel. As soon as I got back from lectures yesterday morning Mel came crashing into my room, all totally panicked about it and close to tears, convinced that I had MS because her sister had the same kind of thing and nearly slipped into a coma because of it, and so begged me to go to the doctors. This led to me saying something I never thought I�d ever say in serious conversation, �I�m not going to slip into a coma and die, I promise�. I did go to the doctors though, if only for her.

I traipsed down there about 5 �o�clock yesterday, Mel in tow (both because she was fretting and because she was worried I was going to fall over at any moment), and saw the same dude who put me on the Pill. He wasn�t really sure what it was about, checked it wasn�t a stroke or diabetes, booked me for a blood test and told me to come back in a week.

Me: I�m back, I�m back, yay for me.
Becky: How did it go then?
Me: Brain tumour.
Becky: Okay, good.

So I went for my blood test this morning, where the nurse took all my blood. She actually turned out to be the same nurse who did my blood test in first year, the one during which I sang Aretha Franklin (for reasons unknown, was probably delirious or something) and she ended up joining in. My arm�s actually proper bruised, and I think she taped on my cotton wool thing with superglue, because I�ve just had to forcibly rip it off and succeeded in tearing a load of blood vessels and giving myself a strange blood clot thing. That was done in front of Becky, who looked absolutely horrified at the sight of my mangled arm. Anyway, so I�ll get the results in a week and I�m sure I haven�t got MS.

Long QT project was all handed in and signed for at one o�clock, after my lecture on gastric reflexes or something. Crazy American Psycho actually took that lecture, and went rambling on about �those Animal Rights terrorists mean you can�t actually get to see this for real, so you�re stuck with slides� and �You hear about that 16 year old boy from Cambridge? The one who�s started a protest against the Animal terrorists? I would love to kiss him�. Anyway, I won�t ever have to whine on about LQT ever again, so big yay for that. I got a grand total of about one hour�s sleep last night, as my brain was so very fried from all the working, and all I had going round and round my head was �Long QT Syndrome, ECG, ventricular tachycardia�.

I�d better get going � Michelle crashed into the living room just now, post-Neighbours, all distressed because she�d just watched the last four episodes of 24 that Dave taped for us over Easter (�I want to cry� I want to throw up, it�s all just so sad�). Consequently I�ve been ordered to watch them this afternoon, so that we can all talk about them later on, and as that equals a good three and a bit hours of telly watching I�d better get a wiggle on.

last - next